Classic Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I found that it smelled deliciously while it was cooking, but it was lacking in flavor. I followed this recipe almost exactly (didn't have any bacon on hand) and added chicken. It needed something else; I'm not sure what could be added to make it better. But I will try a different fried rice recipe before I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Great base! If you can, use Jasmine Rice, it'll be like it came from your local Chinese restaurant. I like to toss in ginger, green onions and peas. The egg part is best if you will fry it then put on a plate to the side and cook the rest up. A tablespoon of rice vinegar and lemon juice really adds a lot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Very good, didn't use the bacon and used 2 eggs instead of 1. added frozen peas and they were great too, I basically used this as a base and changed it a little. very tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Callahan, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Nearly identical to Kikkoman's "Classic Fried Rice," also from this site. For the most part I followed the recipe as written (there are infinite variations you could try) except for cooking the egg separately, like a crepe, then rolling it up like a cigar and slicing it, chiffonade-style, for a more authentic presentation. Just as it is used in "Classic Fried Rice," this could benefit from the addition of some fresh minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
The bacon adding good flavor to this dish! I had more than 4 cups of rice I wanted use so I added more of everything else (sorry, I didn't measure) and also added carrots because I needed to use them too. My family loved it with some asian marinaded chicken. This will be a new go to dish in my home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephstan21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Great and easy to make. I cut up a pork chop and browned in the bacon drippings . when I cooked my rice I did it in chicken broth . Also added a can of peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish
Home Town: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This was a real hit, but I made changes: Added a few more bacon strips and another egg;didn't have the green onions, so substituted with a regular onion and 1/2 green pepper; added chopped fresh mushrooms, and sprinkled with some Adobo seasoning at the end. This was heavy on the grease, so after cooking each item (bacon, eggs, veggies) I drained the grease on paper towels. This got raves, and fed a lot of people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
full of flavor, simple and everybody enjoyed it!!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I made this (with no changes) for my family and they absolutely loved it. The bacon adds so much flavor especially if you don't drain the bacon fat. Next time, I think I'm going to try to add fresh mushrooms (sliced) to add more freshness and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hurlock, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I used 2 eggs and 1/2 cup yellow onion- loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States