Classic Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
The rolls turned out beautifully, light tender crumb. I proofed my yeast with the water and sugar before adding the other ingredients, mixing it by hand and not with a mixer, I also used half all-purpose flour and half bread flour. I only had active yeast, not the rapid rise, so I allowed an hour or so for the first rise, then gently formed a log and cut 12 pieces with my bench scraper and loosely placed them in the cake pan then let them rise another hour. Love the way they turned out, next time I will add a bit more salt, but other then that wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This recipe was so easy and yummy! I used the dough hook attachment on my Kitchen Aid mixer for the kneading. I made two changes to the recipe. First, instead of a muffing tin to cook them in I used a pie plate. I weighed the separated dough on a kitchen scale to make sure they were all about the same, (a little over one ounce each) and spaced them out in the pie plate to rise. Next, I brushed the tops with melted butter before putting them in the oven. When they were done, they were golden, moist, and pulled apart (plus they looked like I bought them at the store). My mixer makes the kneading so easy, and with the rising time being so quick, I will make these for dinner on a regular basis, and not just for special occasions! Loved this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ediecornelius

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Quick and easy dinner rolls! Good flavor and hearty texture; my family loves these rolls. To add variety, I also brush with melted butter before cooking, and then sprinkle chopped rosemary and sea salt on top of about half the pan of rolls. Other good toppings are fine grated Parmesan cheese, poppy seeds, or sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHYTEETEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilkeson, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
These did not work for me... I followed the recipe EXACTLY even using the same brands, and they just would not rise. I have never had a problem with rising before, even at altitude, but I usually mix the yeast in with liquid first before adding to mixture. Next time I would dissolve the yeast in with the warm milk mixture and then add that to dry ingredients. As is, these only came out like little balls about 1.5 inches in diameter, not enough for two people! These also are a little sweet but bland, I would reduce the sugar and maybe add a little more salt or some herbs. Won't use these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
These were about as good as the packaged kind you see rolling around Walmart at Thanksgiving time. Had to use quite a bit more flour - probably another 1/2 to 3/4 cup - as dough was incredibly sticky and virtually impossible to kneed for the alotted time. Next time will try and knead with KA as someone else mentioned. If you're like me and use a scale, I ended up with exactly 1# of dough which evened out to a little over 1 1/4 oz per roll. I'd probably shoot for 10 next time at 1 1/2 oz instead of the 12 rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Fabulous dinner rolls that are quick and easy to make! Light, fluffy and just plain good - what more could you ask for? Plus, I have to admit warm dinner rolls are hard to resist. I used my Kitchen Aid stand mixer with the dough attachment to make easy work of the kneading. I brushed these with melted butter before baking and the result was wonderful. You could easily add a variety of herbs or top with Parmesan cheese and change the recipe to suite your tastes or to compliment your meal. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
These were the best dinner rolls I've ever made- so fluffy and soft, with just the right amount of sweetness, not too much. I used my KitchenAid dough hook to knead them for 6 minutes. I brushed them with a little melted butter before baking and again when they came out of the oven. I baked them in a Pampered Chef stoneware deep-dish pie pan (buttered); the bottoms of the middle ones didn't brown, probably because of the pan, but they still tasted fantastic. I made them at lunch time - we were going to have them with dinner tonight, but we tore into them and ate every single one of them up right then & there! Good thing I still have plenty of time & ingredients to make another batch in time for dinner...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherish

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
These turned out really good! I melted about an ounce of Dill Havarti with the milk and butter, and added powder garlic. It gave them a nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I admit, I love to bake but I had yet to make yeast rolls. This recipe was simple, easy and turned out ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! This will definitely be my go-to roll recipe. Sweet but not too sweet, soft and fluffy. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissLisa3206

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
my fiance loved this recipe, he even made them into little cheese sandwiches, it was easy to make quick and affordable. For my first batch i forgot to put in the salt but after that it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States