Classic Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I had never made bread before, and the first couple times I tried this recipe, it didn't quite come out - the taste was ok, but they didn't rise very much and the texture was kind of thick and chewy as a result. I finally found out what I was doing wrong - I wasn't getting the water/milk/butter mixture hot enough! I bought a food thermometer and got the temp. to 130 and they came out beautifully! This is probably obvious information for most on this site, but if you are like me and new to baking and having trouble with this, try buying a thermometer and getting the temp. exact! Also, try covering the bread with a damp cloth when you let it rise - apparently the dampness helps for some reason, according to another baker who helped me problem-solve on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Such beautiful rolls! Can't wait to eat them with our sweet potato soup tonight. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Quick, easy, and tasty. Just what I was looking for for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Lincoln University, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This has become my go-to recipe for rolls, and I use it whenever I don't have time to make a full batch of bread with dinner. Quick, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This was wonderful! Easy, easy,easy! My family thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Love this recipe. It is so easy and simple. I followed it exactly (with the exception of rapid yeast, I only had instant). It's an easy to work with dough that turns out perfect every time. I've also used this same recipe for making garlic knots and cinnamon rolls. I would totally recommend this recipe any time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annabutton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
So delicious. I cut the sugar in half, using organic cane sugar and dissolved the yeast in 1/8 cup water before adding it to the rest of the ingredients. I then cut the water down to 1/8 cup to compensate for the yeast/water. Next time I will double the recipe, since my husband ate over half of them by himself!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ismene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
turned out ok, but I was hoping there to be more servings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBratton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aubrey, Texas, USA
Living In: Ladson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Fabulous! I also used this recipe to make hamburger buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imtassiethatsme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Yum! Baked these in a cast iron pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DwayneNAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States