Classic Cuban Midnight (Medianoche) Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Yummy. We only changed the mustard to a Dijon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Morton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
For the "cooked pork", I fried up some thin center cut boneless pork chops with some garlic powder, salt, and cumin. And I know that the "traditional" Cuban sandwich has to have pickles in it, but I cannot STAND pickles, so I subbed in some thin slices of fresh, seeded jalapeno. They gave the sandwiches a bite and some crunch and we were really happy with the results. Quick delicious dinner - thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Used the Foreman indoor grill, pressed, then cooked 3-4 minutes depending on desired browning of the bread. Delicious and very simple with basic ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
My husband loved this! I cooked it in the crock pot on low for 8 hours, and was so surprised at how tender it came out using an inexpensive cut of pork. I'm not a big fan or oregano, so I'm trying it today with tarragon instead. Thanks for sharing, this one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Chipotle mayo is the best in this for some heat!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
This was a great recipe to use up leftover pork carnitas meat. The men in the house really raved about it. Easy meal for the summertime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Cubans have become one of my favorite “go to” sandwiches when eating out. It’s true, an authentic Cuban must have a slice of pork tenderloin to be considered a real Cuban Midnight Sandwich. For the pork tenderloin, I used the recipe for “Havana Slow Cooker Pork Tenderloin” from this site. It gives this sandwich a lot of extra added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Not that I know personally, but it looks like the sandwiches I've seen on travel shows. I made ours on onion buns with leftover grilled pork chops. My husband had one like the recipe, everyone else had theirs catered to their tastes. I made mine on a whole wheat bun grilled with olive oil, a bit healthier and still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
OMG...Just as good as my favorite Ybor City restaurants in Tampa. This is a hit! I used mayo with olive oil in it. I used a pannini press. I used Cuban pork roast from another Allrecipes recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I bought a loaf of the real-deal cuban bread (the kind where they put a palm frond right down the center of loaf) from an authentic cuban bakery in Tampa which elevated this to a 5-star recipe...yes, the bread is that good!! I thought 1/2 cup mayo was too much for my taste, so I cut that back drastically. I used reduced-fat mayo and spread just enough on the bread to moisten it and then spread some mustard on top of that. I used my panini pan to get the pressed effect, and did add some really flavorful Campari tomatoes before cooking. Nice, nice sandwich for lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States