Classic Cuban Midnight (Medianoche) Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
These sandwiches are wonderful. Only one problem though. Now my husband wants them every day for lunch! Authentic or not,they are a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Coconut Creek, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
Very good, recipe, I made it slightly different. I used a low carb wrap, cut it in half and grilled the sandwich that way. I also used sliced turkey instead of ham. I will also try this the traditional way, and I'm sure it will be just as good, the pickles on the sandwich make it extra tasty. I also used coarse mustard, which I think makes a difference too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fennville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
Yum, the only thing I can compare these to is a Po'Boy. They are great. The plate trick really works too. I just brushed with a little olive oil to help crisp them. I used regular sandwich rolls too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Really good sandwich. Used regular bread and sweet bread and butter pickles, because that was all I had. Turned out great. Grilled it up like a regular grilled cheese and did not press it down. Had the heat up too high and the bread browned before the cheese melted, so I just put it in the microwave for a few seconds Loved it. The bread and butter pickles would be good for those who don't like dill. Will make it again using the recipe ingredients and the changes I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE99901

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
This sandwich rocks! It will most certainly become a regular at our house. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
Wow what a sandwich! No need for seconds! Its a whole meal in a sandwich! Hearty! Someone should sell this to Subway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
I was looking for a good recipie, and I found it! I love cuban sandwiches. For an interesting twist buy the prepared pulled BBQ pork in your deli section and heat that up and use that for the pork. Makes for a taste explosion!!! Thanks so much for sharing your wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
Wendy, these are great! I used soft kaiser rolls, mixed in a bit of italian dressing with the mayo and mustard and there was plenty of meats for 6 huge sandwiches. Luckily my deli had sliced roast pork! I too brushed them with olive oil before pressing them in my griddle and they crisped up so nicely. Served with black bean soup. Even my little girl loved her sandwich AFTER she yanked the pickles off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
What a great sandwich! I went out and bought a sandwich press specifically for this recipe; I love trying new things. It was well worth the time and money to be able to serve such an out-of-the-ordinary sandwich to my family. Having never used a press before this, I followed all directions to the 't'. Next time, I'll try some variations such as the Italian dressing mentioned. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
We also added Italian dressing and we didn't have sliced dill pickles, but we substitued dill pickle relish and it turned out great. This is definately a hit with our family and will our new use for left over pork loins. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States