Classic Cuban Midnight (Medianoche) Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
We use regular sub rolls from the grocery bakery. We spread a very thin coating of butter on the outside and lightly sprinkle them with garlic salt and black pepper. Once you grill them, they are crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. Inside, we used thinly sliced deli ham and left over pork tenderloin from the night before, swiss cheese, mayo, mustard and fresh pickles such as claussen's. We grilled them up on the Foreman grill, pressing hard to flatten them out and heat everything through. I have yet to make these without rave reviews!! I now have a new favorite sandwich! Very easy to make and fantastic!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
Good to be able to do this at home. These were yummy flavors together. I usually have to wait to get home to FL to experience it. This will hold me over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Florida, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
Ohmigosh...what a great meal idea! I served it with the tostones and both my husband and I were captivated by the flavors and the fun of cooking together in the kitchen...it took both of us to prepare the sandwiches and cook the tostones....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
This is a good version of the Cuban as we know it but not the original, love all the different versions. Pork is spicy roasted, ham is also fresh not processed, good swiss cheese, dill pickles,cover the sandwich along with the mustard sauce.Cuban bread crispy on outside soft inside, heat on both sides, press with spatcular.do not melt cheese. This is from my brother- in-law, who is from cuba.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Dunnellon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
I've been making these sandwhiches for years only I use a club roll like a Paninni bread and 86 the maoy and mustard I use cilantro, parsley, garlic, hot chile flakes and olive oil, puree in food prosessor to make a pesto and spread that on the roll, you'll love it better and it's better for you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fingers77

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Westwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Although I just used a hoagie roll instead of a sweet roll this was awesome-- I did use my George Foreman Grill to press the sandwich together-- although it had some cute grill marks across the bread it was sooooo easy to do instead of the heavy pressing with a skillet etc. Family loved it of course
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
This sandwich sounds like the real Medianoche to me. I have a Cuban-American cookbook from Miami, "Memories of A Cuban Kitchen" that includes the same recipe. Egg buns are a good bread to use - sweet and big enough in the dinner size. Most international bakeries/delis have egg buns. Thanks for thiss classic, yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Well, I guess the person that didn't even TRY to lighten the calories has never had a Philly Steak Sand!!! THAT has MORE calories,LOL. This sandwich is awesome the way I made it. Used Miracle whip and prob 1/4 cup for 4 sandwiches. Made with Honey Baked Ham, less salt AND calories, used left over pork, again, less calories AND salt. Used olive oil and regular french rolls. Mind you I only made it that way because thats what we use at home!!! Tasted GREAT! And Im sure no one would notice!!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Those of us who used to live in Florida and - quite honestly - took these sandwiches for granted THANK YOU!! WOW - a great sandwich that reminds me of living in Tampa, although the bread was not particularly sweet. A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Oh, wow! I used some of a leftover french loaf since the store didn't have any sweet rolls other than the onces that are really small. I used spray butter, smoked ham, and some black pepper pork sandwich meat. Soooo good. Next time, I'm going to use a honey mustard recipe that I got off of the site instead of mustard/mayo on the sandwich. Thank you so much! This is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChunkyMonkeyMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States