Classic Cuban Midnight (Medianoche) Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
These were a hit at my last party! I accidentally used bread&butter pickles...also couldn't find the sweet rolls so I got the large loaf of cuban bread. Pressed them in a panini...mmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
The perfect Cuban sandwich! Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
We love the other recipe on this site that uses turkey, but are tired of turkey after all the Christmas leftovers, so I was happy to find this recipe using pork. It was just as good. I added Italian dressing to the mayo and brushed with olive oil, not butter. A plate weighing them down on medium heat worked perfectly with whole wheat sub rolls. Serve with vegetable soup or a salad for a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
THIS WAS THE BEST, AND SO EASY FOR ONE ON THE GEORGE! I DIDN'T HAVE SLICED PORK, BUT USED CARNITAS INSTEAD. THE GARLICKY FLAVOR MADE THIS SANDWICH A KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Recently got a sandwich press as a gift, and my husband LOVED this sandwich. I used hoagie rolls instead of sweet bread and used bread and butter pickles. It was very good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I made this sandwich for an unexpected lunch with friends using leftovers and it went over very well. I didn't use sweet rolls because I didn't have any, but used some french bread slices I had in the freezer. It was a really good lunch with a quick fruit salad and iced tea and I was able to make it with what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANNSTODD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Harker Heights, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
We use regular sub rolls from the grocery bakery. We spread a very thin coating of butter on the outside and lightly sprinkle them with garlic salt and black pepper. Once you grill them, they are crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. Inside, we used thinly sliced deli ham and left over pork tenderloin from the night before, swiss cheese, mayo, mustard and fresh pickles such as claussen's. We grilled them up on the Foreman grill, pressing hard to flatten them out and heat everything through. I have yet to make these without rave reviews!! I now have a new favorite sandwich! Very easy to make and fantastic!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
Good to be able to do this at home. These were yummy flavors together. I usually have to wait to get home to FL to experience it. This will hold me over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise McLain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Florida, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
Ohmigosh...what a great meal idea! I served it with the tostones and both my husband and I were captivated by the flavors and the fun of cooking together in the kitchen...it took both of us to prepare the sandwiches and cook the tostones....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
This is a good version of the Cuban as we know it but not the original, love all the different versions. Pork is spicy roasted, ham is also fresh not processed, good swiss cheese, dill pickles,cover the sandwich along with the mustard sauce.Cuban bread crispy on outside soft inside, heat on both sides, press with spatcular.do not melt cheese. This is from my brother- in-law, who is from cuba.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Dunnellon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States