Classic Cuban Midnight (Medianoche) Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by tizzylizz
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Yummers! Made no changes to this recipe. Used Sweet Italian Hogie bread that Kroger sells. A great way to use up some leftover pork loin from a previous dinner. The boys LOVED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gretna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Was really good, better if I had a press as using the plate made it slide off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Kelso, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
now that:s better!!!! someone had posted a midnight sandwich not even close to the real thing....thank you for posting this as i was about to lose my mind!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
OMG, this sandwich is awesome! I wasn't sure if it would be that good because it calls for so much meat and cheese, but it was soooo good. I made the recipe exactly as stated using sliced leftover pork roast and was very surprised by how excellent this sandwich tasted. I have never had a medianoche before, so i can't say how authentic it was, but definitely delicious! will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I stumbled upon this while looking for a way to use up leftover pork tenderloin, and I'm so glad I did! For an even more authentic flavor, I made my own Cuban rolls from a recipe found on recipezaar. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Harnett Cain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I had left over center cut pork chops that I thinly sliced, and added a thin spread of italian dressing to the bread before mayo and mustard. We used portuguese rolls, which are denser and crustier. What a great sandwich. The pickles make it, don't leave the pickles out!! Not like the real thing but as close as we'll get in upstate NY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reb&Rob

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Excellent sandwich! Even my picky "Boys" at it up and wanted moore. I used some leftover pulled pork from another dinner earlier in the week that had no barbeque sauceon it. It was seasoned with a few spices and it was perfect on this sandwich ! I will surely make this one again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
My family loved this even though I had to make some adjustments to use what I had on hand at the moment. I had to use Havarti cheese and hamburger buns. But after grilling them on a grill pan and pressing them with my cast iron skillet you couldn't tell it was a bun. It just tasted wonderful. I only made half of the sauce and it was plenty. This is a good quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenni Rose
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I love this sandwich! One of my favorites...For the spread I did 1 part dijon, 1 part spicy mustard, 1 part yellow mustard, and 3 parts mayo. I omitted the pickles out of personal preference and didn't have pulled pork on hand so I used turkey but will definitely try pork next time. And since I had it in my fridge, I added sliced scallions, fresh spinach leaves, and a pinch of black pepper, salt, and sugar. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States