Classic Cuban Midnight (Medianoche) Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I had left over center cut pork chops that I thinly sliced, and added a thin spread of italian dressing to the bread before mayo and mustard. We used portuguese rolls, which are denser and crustier. What a great sandwich. The pickles make it, don't leave the pickles out!! Not like the real thing but as close as we'll get in upstate NY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reb&Rob

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Excellent sandwich! Even my picky "Boys" at it up and wanted moore. I used some leftover pulled pork from another dinner earlier in the week that had no barbeque sauceon it. It was seasoned with a few spices and it was perfect on this sandwich ! I will surely make this one again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
My family loved this even though I had to make some adjustments to use what I had on hand at the moment. I had to use Havarti cheese and hamburger buns. But after grilling them on a grill pan and pressing them with my cast iron skillet you couldn't tell it was a bun. It just tasted wonderful. I only made half of the sauce and it was plenty. This is a good quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenni Rose
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I love this sandwich! One of my favorites...For the spread I did 1 part dijon, 1 part spicy mustard, 1 part yellow mustard, and 3 parts mayo. I omitted the pickles out of personal preference and didn't have pulled pork on hand so I used turkey but will definitely try pork next time. And since I had it in my fridge, I added sliced scallions, fresh spinach leaves, and a pinch of black pepper, salt, and sugar. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Like others, I could not find sweet Cuban rolls in my area: I just used a very dough-y sub bun. I would not change anything except subbing EVOO for the butter. I think I would of liked better and it is healthier. The mustard/mayo on mixed lunchmeat sandwiches is something we've done for a long time (we flatten on a George Forman grill, so although this was not unique to us, it was still very good and we will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I too have problems finding the Cuban sweet rolls, so I use honey mustard instead of regular yellow mustard. (Don't use honey mustard dressing -- it tastes different.) It's the closest I've come to emulating the cubanos I loved in Miami.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I had seen this made on the FoodNetwork and wanted to try it but never had all the ingredients until now. I followed the recipe as stated except for the bread. I only had ciabatta bread (plus it made for a smaller serving size)! This was so good! The crispiness of the bread, the pickle crunch and of course the "sauce" makes the sandwich! Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Made these for my super bowl party and they were a HUGE hit! First thing to go!I had hot wings left over but everyone asked for seconds on these sandwichs! Made them just as the recipie called for! Awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeane

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Excellent! I used the ingredients as listed, but just mixed mustard and mayo together and used the spread. I also used my George Foreman grill to cook it and the bread turned out nice and crusty outside and soft inside. I wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teena1015

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This was really good and easy! We ate them with a big bowl of soup! Wouldnt' change a thing-thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YOYO78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States