Classic Cuban Midnight (Medianoche) Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Very good! I needed to use up some leftover pork tenderloin, and this did the trick! I couldn't find sweet rolls (I don't even know what those are!) so I bought Pane Italian rolls. I went out on a limb and used the mayo, although using it on a heated sandwich sounded gross to me. I mixed the mayo and mustard together, which the directions don't call for. This seemed to work out well. Instead of butter, I used olive oil on the bread, and I grilled on the Georgie for about 4 minutes. I have no idea what an authentic Cuban sandwich tastes like, but this was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This is a really good recipe. I used this recipe to honor my brothers welcoming of home. My family and I are from Cuba and we really enjoyed this recipe. -Colorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This sandwich is delicious and very quick and easy to make! The only suggestion I have is to use spicy or deli mustard instead of regular yellow mustard, but either way everyone should give these a try you wont be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley92285

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
My family loves this recipe. We always make them after having a pork loin or tenderloin the night before, and the Foreman Grill is great for pressing them. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicola May Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This is the real thing folks. I'm of Cuban descent and live in Miami and this is a wonderful recipe. I would argue that mayo is not an original ingredient in a Medianoche or a Cuban Sandwich but you can always leave it out. I make these for parties, cut the sandwich into fours, put toothpicks through them and place them on platters. They are always the first to go. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Loved this! It tasted just like one I had at Walt Disney World recently. My only change was using mozzerella cheese instead of swiss (didn't have swiss on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tizzylizz
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Yummers! Made no changes to this recipe. Used Sweet Italian Hogie bread that Kroger sells. A great way to use up some leftover pork loin from a previous dinner. The boys LOVED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gretna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Was really good, better if I had a press as using the plate made it slide off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Kelso, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States