Classic Cuban Midnight (Medianoche) Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
One of my favorite sandwiches ever! This turned out perfectly, thank you :o) I used leftover sliced pork roast for this and it was awesome. Definitely don't skimp on the mustard and pickles!! I actually had spicy kosher pickles so I think that took this recipe up to ten stars. The frying pan method worked just fine so I didn't have to dig out my george foreman grill. thanks again for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Husband loved it!!! I did use kosher dills & would have been better if I had used Claussen slices. But a for sure "do over"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
YUM! My husband raved about it (he took leftovers for lunch), I loved it, my daughter loved it, but our teenaged son was so-so. He ate it, but didn't take a second one (he is 16, 6 ft and growing, so 2 sandwiches would be the norm). He's the only reason it didn't get 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherriRBGR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I've eaten a LOT of Cuban sandwiches (never in Cuba, mostly in Key West) and this tastes as good as the best I've ever had - even though I'm low-carbing it these days and made it with a low carb Tortilla and it wasn't pressed in a grill. FABULOUS recipe. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
it sounds good, but not the cuban original recipe; no sweet bread, we use cuban bread, crispy and dry outside and no mayo, instead butter should be use...I'm born and raise in Cuba, my mother has cuban restaurants all her life... but it seems a good variation..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
If you cant find roast pork at your deli, do this. I take a pork tenderloing and marinate in Mojo Criollo overnight to give it that authentic Cuban flavor. Then roast slowly in oven at 300 degrees until done. Then I shred it, this is how they used to do it when I was growing up in Tampa. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by utley813

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
My new favorite lunch! I followed the recipe exactly, except I used just regular panini rolls and didn't measure the mayo and mustard, just put on to our tastes. Used leftover pork I had from a roast, and it was fantastic! I used my George Foreman to grill for a couple minutes. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
awesome...I don't think I came up for air!!!! I used leftover roast pork from the night before and it was great way to use it up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Really yummy and a crowd pleaser. And yet it's just a ham/pork/swiss sandwich but together it's more than that somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Except for the sweet bread, this is exactly the sandwich I lived on in Key West, made by Cubans for Cubans. They used those rolls that are a smaller, hoagie sized version of French bread. I love these sandwiches, but I only gave 4 stars because I didn't like the sweet bread so much. Next time I'll go back to the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Venice, California, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States