Classic Cuban Midnight (Medianoche) Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Pretty darn good. I do it a bit different... Use a firm baguette instead of roll. No mustard. Instead of mayo do garlic aioli. Instead of pickle use sweet banana peppers. YUM. Also, add chopped cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breeze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vashon, Washington, USA
Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I grew up in Tampa Florida and I remember my parents packing my sister and I up and driving into Ybor City for Cuban sandwiches and deviled crabs. Other than the mayo, I made as directed and they took me back to my childhood. Great recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This is my favorite kind of sandwich! I used homemade Crusty Cuban Bread instead of rolls and pulled pork instead of sliced. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIENNEROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Very easy and very good. There is a vendor near by job who sells these and I love them , but this recipe is far better than his medianoche sandwiches. YUM NOTE: I used my George Foreman grill to make these and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Loved it!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Excellent! I used extra lean pork and ham, reduced fat swiss, and light mayo. My husband said it was the best he'd ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Perfect! Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was good, similar in flavor to a ham'n'cheese with a twist, to my taste. However, my better half really liked it! I had to improvise with the griddle/skillet thing, and I do say that 8 minutes (4 min. a side) was a bit too long- it got a little too *carbonized*. If your pan is hot as it should be, 3 minutes is plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Excellente! I used a cast iron skillet to weight the sandwich as it cooked. Very authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
One of my favorite sandwiches ever! This turned out perfectly, thank you :o) I used leftover sliced pork roast for this and it was awesome. Definitely don't skimp on the mustard and pickles!! I actually had spicy kosher pickles so I think that took this recipe up to ten stars. The frying pan method worked just fine so I didn't have to dig out my george foreman grill. thanks again for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States