Classic Cuban Midnight (Medianoche) Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
This was a great recipe to use up leftover pork carnitas meat. The men in the house really raved about it. Easy meal for the summertime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Cubans have become one of my favorite “go to” sandwiches when eating out. It’s true, an authentic Cuban must have a slice of pork tenderloin to be considered a real Cuban Midnight Sandwich. For the pork tenderloin, I used the recipe for “Havana Slow Cooker Pork Tenderloin” from this site. It gives this sandwich a lot of extra added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
8-7-13: Didn't like this much, apparently. Gave it a '3'. 11-21-14: But this time it was very good. Changed to a '5'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Not that I know personally, but it looks like the sandwiches I've seen on travel shows. I made ours on onion buns with leftover grilled pork chops. My husband had one like the recipe, everyone else had theirs catered to their tastes. I made mine on a whole wheat bun grilled with olive oil, a bit healthier and still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
OMG...Just as good as my favorite Ybor City restaurants in Tampa. This is a hit! I used mayo with olive oil in it. I used a pannini press. I used Cuban pork roast from another Allrecipes recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I bought a loaf of the real-deal cuban bread (the kind where they put a palm frond right down the center of loaf) from an authentic cuban bakery in Tampa which elevated this to a 5-star recipe...yes, the bread is that good!! I thought 1/2 cup mayo was too much for my taste, so I cut that back drastically. I used reduced-fat mayo and spread just enough on the bread to moisten it and then spread some mustard on top of that. I used my panini pan to get the pressed effect, and did add some really flavorful Campari tomatoes before cooking. Nice, nice sandwich for lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Amazing! This is a great sandwich, even my husband loved it, and he was skeptical about it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collins, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This was a great way to use some leftover grilled pork loin. Used my preheated George forman grill for 5 minutes (pressing down the lid for the first minute).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This was wonderful! When I have had these at Cuban restaurants, there is no mustard or mayonnaise on the bread, just butter, so that's how I made mine. I used provolone instead of Swiss (just a personal preference, and Claussen garlic pickles. Wow! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Delicious. Had some extra buns to use. Nice weekday dinner. Served with watermelon and coleslaw. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States