Classic Cuban Midnight (Medianoche) Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
This was a great recipe to use up leftover pork carnitas meat. The men in the house really raved about it. Easy meal for the summertime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Cubans have become one of my favorite “go to” sandwiches when eating out. It’s true, an authentic Cuban must have a slice of pork tenderloin to be considered a real Cuban Midnight Sandwich. For the pork tenderloin, I used the recipe for “Havana Slow Cooker Pork Tenderloin” from this site. It gives this sandwich a lot of extra added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
8-7-13: Didn't like this much, apparently. Gave it a '3'. 11-21-14: But this time it was very good. Changed to a '5'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Not that I know personally, but it looks like the sandwiches I've seen on travel shows. I made ours on onion buns with leftover grilled pork chops. My husband had one like the recipe, everyone else had theirs catered to their tastes. I made mine on a whole wheat bun grilled with olive oil, a bit healthier and still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
OMG...Just as good as my favorite Ybor City restaurants in Tampa. This is a hit! I used mayo with olive oil in it. I used a pannini press. I used Cuban pork roast from another Allrecipes recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I bought a loaf of the real-deal cuban bread (the kind where they put a palm frond right down the center of loaf) from an authentic cuban bakery in Tampa which elevated this to a 5-star recipe...yes, the bread is that good!! I thought 1/2 cup mayo was too much for my taste, so I cut that back drastically. I used reduced-fat mayo and spread just enough on the bread to moisten it and then spread some mustard on top of that. I used my panini pan to get the pressed effect, and did add some really flavorful Campari tomatoes before cooking. Nice, nice sandwich for lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Amazing! This is a great sandwich, even my husband loved it, and he was skeptical about it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collins, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This was a great way to use some leftover grilled pork loin. Used my preheated George forman grill for 5 minutes (pressing down the lid for the first minute).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This was wonderful! When I have had these at Cuban restaurants, there is no mustard or mayonnaise on the bread, just butter, so that's how I made mine. I used provolone instead of Swiss (just a personal preference, and Claussen garlic pickles. Wow! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Delicious. Had some extra buns to use. Nice weekday dinner. Served with watermelon and coleslaw. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States