Classic Cuban Midnight (Medianoche) Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
This sandwich sounds like the real Medianoche to me. I have a Cuban-American cookbook from Miami, "Memories of A Cuban Kitchen" that includes the same recipe. Egg buns are a good bread to use - sweet and big enough in the dinner size. Most international bakeries/delis have egg buns. Thanks for thiss classic, yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Well, I guess the person that didn't even TRY to lighten the calories has never had a Philly Steak Sand!!! THAT has MORE calories,LOL. This sandwich is awesome the way I made it. Used Miracle whip and prob 1/4 cup for 4 sandwiches. Made with Honey Baked Ham, less salt AND calories, used left over pork, again, less calories AND salt. Used olive oil and regular french rolls. Mind you I only made it that way because thats what we use at home!!! Tasted GREAT! And Im sure no one would notice!!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Those of us who used to live in Florida and - quite honestly - took these sandwiches for granted THANK YOU!! WOW - a great sandwich that reminds me of living in Tampa, although the bread was not particularly sweet. A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Oh, wow! I used some of a leftover french loaf since the store didn't have any sweet rolls other than the onces that are really small. I used spray butter, smoked ham, and some black pepper pork sandwich meat. Soooo good. Next time, I'm going to use a honey mustard recipe that I got off of the site instead of mustard/mayo on the sandwich. Thank you so much! This is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChunkyMonkeyMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
My deli did not have pork to thinly slice, so I roasted a pork loin fillet seasoned with just salt and pepper and sliced it into thin cuts. I used brown sugar deli-sliced ham and sandwich-sliced Tabasco pickles. I used a cast iron skillet to press the sandwiches and found medium heat worked best (rather than medium-high). Tasted truly authentic! Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
I love making these sandwitches as they are easy and can be combined with whatever you have on hand. I would recommend using olive oil instead of butter as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I also made these for the AFC Championship game and they were very nice. I used sweet pickles instead of dill and I loved it that way. My guests enjoyed them as well! Go Pittsburgh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
We also added Italian dressing and we didn't have sliced dill pickles, but we substitued dill pickle relish and it turned out great. This is definately a hit with our family and will our new use for left over pork loins. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
What a great sandwich! I went out and bought a sandwich press specifically for this recipe; I love trying new things. It was well worth the time and money to be able to serve such an out-of-the-ordinary sandwich to my family. Having never used a press before this, I followed all directions to the 't'. Next time, I'll try some variations such as the Italian dressing mentioned. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
Wendy, these are great! I used soft kaiser rolls, mixed in a bit of italian dressing with the mayo and mustard and there was plenty of meats for 6 huge sandwiches. Luckily my deli had sliced roast pork! I too brushed them with olive oil before pressing them in my griddle and they crisped up so nicely. Served with black bean soup. Even my little girl loved her sandwich AFTER she yanked the pickles off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States