Classic CRISCO® Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
was a little crumbly, but was great! just what i want in a pie crust. I will try another spoon of water next time. I also put the flour and salt in the freezer and used ice water, that tip was my granny's, so i'm sure there's a reason for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I found that I had to use 7 tablespoons of cold water, and that this recipe makes only one and a half pie crusts. It was otherwise a perfect recipe, and I love it. The dough is smooth and tender, not crumbly like other recipes with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This recipe is great! Like keystitchery I have used this recipe for over 35 years.If you are problems, try these tips. Use ice water to mix. I put ice cubes in my water, spoon it in to flour mixture. You can even refrigerate the pie dough before you roll it out. It is a soft dough and you can work it easily if you roll it out between two sheets of wax paper. I flour my wax paper place dough on to it. Flour top of the dough and top with wax paper and roll to right size. Pull top sheet off and lift from under wax paper and flip into pie pan, Pull wax paper off. Fill and crimp edges. This recipe pinches to reseal a gap easily. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This is wonderful! I've been using this Crisco recipe for many, many years & am not disappointed. It makes a flaky crust that is very easy. I keep my Crisco in the refrigerator (other shortenings do not come out as well for me.) so it is good & cold. The weather & brand of flour can determine the amount of ice water used. Start with 2 tble of the ice water, mix with a fork & add additional until it comes together. I also make it into a disk, wrap in Saran Wrap & chill for 20-30 minutes. I often use chilled butter-flavored Crisco for a buttery taste. If your crust is crumbly, you must add additonal ice water, a few drops at a time. Much better than the packaged stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
People who know me, know that although I love baking, I suck at making pie crusts. My husband and I had purchased a large quantity of apples from the farmers market and spent a Saturday in the kitchen making pies. We started with a "no-fail" recipe I'd had for years and kept using...then promptly decided it was that recipe that caused me to think I couldn't make crusts! LOL We made one pie with it, then on the computer I went to look for another. And this is it! It comes together easy, rolls out wonderfully and is very flaky. We have given away about half the pies to family members and though they do give the pie as a whole a great rating, they rave about the crust. Look no further, this is an excellent pie crust recipe - even for beginners or those of us who "can't" make crusts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa McBride Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Is a good pie crust, not outstanding, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
easy to work with. I only needed 4 tbps, but I guess it depends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I used Country Crock light instead of shortening because I don't buy shortening. My crust turned out great. Also, to keep from being crumbly, I kneeded the crust with my hands and rolled out on flour. Hope these tips help you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I've been making piecrusts for a LONG time and this is the best one I've ever made. Makes a perfect deepdish 9" crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Easy, and pretty good pie crust. I halved the recipe and went from there. For people who believe there is too little water; just be aware that since flour absorbs humidity, sometimes you need more water or less depending on the humidity of where you live/what your weather is like. That's why bread recipes sometimes need more or less flour added and that's why this recipe is going to need more or less liquid depending on where you live. I just kept adding tablespoons of water until I got a nice, smooth ball of crust. This is flaky, and flavorful if you use butter flavored Crisco like I did. It was great with the Rosemary and Tomato Tart I made it for. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States