Classic Creamy Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by amy beth
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I cut the recipe in half and used a 16oz bag of the prepared coleslaw mix. I have never liked coleslaw before I tried this. The different flavors are amazing! My bf said this is a recipe for people who don't like coleslaw. You can't help but like it! Like I said I cut the recipe in half, but I cut the sugar in half again. I thought it was still slightly too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This is indeed a classic coleslaw. I've been looking for a perfect slaw recipe for years, and though I always found one I liked, I never found one I loved and want to make often. I made this at Christmas and even my brother who is no big fan of slaw was eating it up. I've made it with the bagged slaw, but it just doesn't compare to a fresh head of cabbage chopped up fine in the Cuisinart. Thank you for posting this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I cut this recipe down quite a bit and used the bag coleslaw mix to cut down on the chopping. I was a litle iffy on the dressing at first but once it sat in the fridge for a couple hours the flavors really blended and it was yummy. Very creamy and a nice taste with a bit of zip to it. We had it by itself and also had it on BBQ beef sandwiches-was great both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
My husband thought that this was the best cole slaw he had ever tasted. I added half of a small vidalia onion, and omitted the celery seed. It was very delicious and will be made again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I made this to go with pulled pork - it's pretty good. I cut the dressing in half for a bag of coleslaw mix. I think using low fat mayo was a mistake though.... Next time I'm going for the full fat version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This is EXACTLY the coleslaw recipe I was hunting for! Light, tasty, and easy. We've only had it once, but it is already on the list of our family's favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
The perfect coleslaw recipe for people (like me) who just want a classic coleslaw and not something fancy or unusual. I had 3/4 of a head of cabbage because I needed just a small amount of cabbage for another recipe, so I decided to make coleslaw out of it, so I simply reduced the ingredients. I was extremely pleased with the outcome! It's fresh and tastes like the type served in many restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This was a great recipe however the celery seed was way to much, it overpowered the other flavors. The next time I will only add a teaspoon of the celery seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
the only thing i changed/added was i used 3/4 C mayo and the same of vadilia onion salad dressing and also chopped the carrots instead of shred and added one finely chopped red inion. This was the first time i made cole slaw and everyone raved about it i even had to give the recipe to others, of course i told them i got it from here definaly will make again thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Massalski Ferrazza

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I substituted bagged colelaw mix for the cabbage and carrots and cut all the other ingredients in half. It is cooling at the moment and I already the marriage of the cabbage and the dressing will be great! It's not too creamy and not too sweet, just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States