Classic Creamy Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I cut this recipe down quite a bit and used the bag coleslaw mix to cut down on the chopping. I was a litle iffy on the dressing at first but once it sat in the fridge for a couple hours the flavors really blended and it was yummy. Very creamy and a nice taste with a bit of zip to it. We had it by itself and also had it on BBQ beef sandwiches-was great both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I substituted bagged colelaw mix for the cabbage and carrots and cut all the other ingredients in half. It is cooling at the moment and I already the marriage of the cabbage and the dressing will be great! It's not too creamy and not too sweet, just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
The perfect coleslaw recipe for people (like me) who just want a classic coleslaw and not something fancy or unusual. I had 3/4 of a head of cabbage because I needed just a small amount of cabbage for another recipe, so I decided to make coleslaw out of it, so I simply reduced the ingredients. I was extremely pleased with the outcome! It's fresh and tastes like the type served in many restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Excellent coleslaw. I've tried several recipes over the years, but this is the very best so far. I used Kraft mayo and white wine vinegar. I did add a 1/4 tsp. onion powder and some freshly ground black pepper as well. I cut this down to serve 5, used a 16 oz bag of shredded coleslaw mix, and it worked out great. Delicious! Thanks Martha for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
the only thing i changed/added was i used 3/4 C mayo and the same of vadilia onion salad dressing and also chopped the carrots instead of shred and added one finely chopped red inion. This was the first time i made cole slaw and everyone raved about it i even had to give the recipe to others, of course i told them i got it from here definaly will make again thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
My husband thought that this was the best cole slaw he had ever tasted. I added half of a small vidalia onion, and omitted the celery seed. It was very delicious and will be made again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I have never liked coleslaw until now. This was great. Changes I made: increased vinegar and mayo slightly. Added minced onion and black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fishers, Indiana, USA
Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
this was not coleslaw that I would serve again. It didn't taste much like classic coleslaw to me. It had a zing that wasn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
excellent taste thank you for sharing!!:}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This is really good. I added onion, as another reviewer suggested, and some grated daikon radish -- deeelicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcalmore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States