Classic Creamy Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I cut this recipe down quite a bit and used the bag coleslaw mix to cut down on the chopping. I was a litle iffy on the dressing at first but once it sat in the fridge for a couple hours the flavors really blended and it was yummy. Very creamy and a nice taste with a bit of zip to it. We had it by itself and also had it on BBQ beef sandwiches-was great both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I substituted bagged colelaw mix for the cabbage and carrots and cut all the other ingredients in half. It is cooling at the moment and I already the marriage of the cabbage and the dressing will be great! It's not too creamy and not too sweet, just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
The perfect coleslaw recipe for people (like me) who just want a classic coleslaw and not something fancy or unusual. I had 3/4 of a head of cabbage because I needed just a small amount of cabbage for another recipe, so I decided to make coleslaw out of it, so I simply reduced the ingredients. I was extremely pleased with the outcome! It's fresh and tastes like the type served in many restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Excellent coleslaw. I've tried several recipes over the years, but this is the very best so far. I used Kraft mayo and white wine vinegar. I did add a 1/4 tsp. onion powder and some freshly ground black pepper as well. I cut this down to serve 5, used a 16 oz bag of shredded coleslaw mix, and it worked out great. Delicious! Thanks Martha for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
the only thing i changed/added was i used 3/4 C mayo and the same of vadilia onion salad dressing and also chopped the carrots instead of shred and added one finely chopped red inion. This was the first time i made cole slaw and everyone raved about it i even had to give the recipe to others, of course i told them i got it from here definaly will make again thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Massalski Ferrazza

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
My husband thought that this was the best cole slaw he had ever tasted. I added half of a small vidalia onion, and omitted the celery seed. It was very delicious and will be made again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I have never liked coleslaw until now. This was great. Changes I made: increased vinegar and mayo slightly. Added minced onion and black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fishers, Indiana, USA
Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
this was not coleslaw that I would serve again. It didn't taste much like classic coleslaw to me. It had a zing that wasn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
excellent taste thank you for sharing!!:}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This is really good. I added onion, as another reviewer suggested, and some grated daikon radish -- deeelicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcalmore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States