Classic Creamy Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Everyone loved this recipe as is, i only cut down the portions to make about 1/3 as much. Tasted pretty darn close to that of KFC which WAS my fav. I usually go for the miracle whip salad dressing instead of mayo, but i thought it'd be too tangy with the vinegar in the recipe so i opted for the mayo...right choice:) This will be one our long time "keepers". Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Everyone I've made this for loves it. My sis-in-law said she used to love KFC 'slaw' the best but now she said mine has the top spot. I've had lots of homemade coleslaw over the years but this one is tops. I did have to cut down on the amount of celery seed, by 3/4. I found it to be too bitter. could've been my celery seed, was a little older. I also added red cabbage, unsalted sesame seeds, slivered almonds, and dried cranberries. I feel they add a different dimension of texture and earthiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Excellent classic coleslaw. I made for a barbecue picnic and it was perfect with chicken and ribs. Instead of sugar, I used a cup of Splenda -- yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This is a great recipe, the only I did different was add a little celery seed and I thought it was perfect, my hunnie devoured it. I will use this for my next cook-out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cricket

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
My intention was to make this according to the recipe for a large party. When I started grating the cabbage, however, I realized that 3 large heads was going to be way too much for the amount of dressing. And I was right. I ended up only grating 2 heads and that worked well pretty well. The dressing is delcious and I added some red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
exellent, though i did use napa cabbage & sized it down to a serving of 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dodster

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
My Family really liked this. I bought the 16 oz bag of 3 color deli cole slaw in the fresh vegetable dept. Scaled the recipe down to 5 servings and added one teaspoon of milk to the mixture. Tossed everything together, let set for two hours then stired again. Turned out great. Will be making this again in the future. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWIWI11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Grovetown, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Good recipe... I did, however, take the other comments into consideration about it being too sweet. So, I lessened the sugar quite a bit, increased the vinegar, added fresh ground pepper, a scoop of sour cream and a bit of milk. (I combined a bit of my recipe to this one.) I always taste it before a add it to the cabbage mixture. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Maded the creamy coleslaw thus evening Used the mayo, sweetner since am diabetic, and half and half just enough to thin out mayo OGM it is wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I used store bought coleslaw mix to save time. This dressing is great. I continue to make it and will never use another recipe for coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernAloha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States