Classic Crab and Shrimp Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by melimel_86
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
The recipe should have been "1 small onion" also using red onion makes for nicer presentation however if you use a red onion they tend to be very large so I would suggest half the onion...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This is so good. The flavors mixed well. I used a whole small onion. I thought it was perfect. We ate it on pita bread and crackers. It would even be great on a tossed salad. I will be taking this to our Easter gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I thought this was quite tasty myself, as did my husband and stepson.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLAFOUNT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Very tasty and easy to prepare. Guests loved it and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NitroBurns

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This was great. I used 1 small onion, and 1/2 a medium sized green pepper. I also added in 1/4 cup of Old Bay seafood seasoning, along with ground black pepper, parsley, and a pinch of lemon-pepper seasoning. It was great. I served it with butter lettuc. I will most surely frequent allrecipes.com for more tasty recipes such as this one. I think that the key is, if you have been cooking long enough, then you can kinda tweak any recipe to your own liking. The addition of the Old Bay gave it the taste I was going for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Simple, delicious, and can't wait to use it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This shrimp salad is simply the best! Just to kick it up a notch, I added a little chopped bacon & a pinch of Penseys Parisien Bonnes Herbes. I made sure to finely chop the celery after peeling off the stalk "strings" and I used 3 eggs, not 2. I also used sweet onion (I've done this with green onions; they work great too). I just love this recipe! It's so simple and easy!!! Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSKREMSER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I'm making some more real soon. Just try it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Not bad. After sitting in the refrigerator and having the flavors 'marry' this was a pretty good salad. Way too many onions but I don't like them anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quartz Hill, California, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Excellent recipe EXCEPT for the onion. I love onion and using only half of a Vidalia was still heavy on flavor. I eased off on the green bell pepper too, probably using only half. We had plenty of shrimp in the freezer, but no crab, so I used Orange Roughy instead. (If you're unfamiliar with this fish, it has a similar texture and flavor to crab/lobster.) Once all the mayo, onion, pepper, celery and seasonings were mixed in, it blended in beautifully. I added some Old Bay too. Good stuff for a cool, summertime lunch! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKNIGHT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altavista, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States