Classic Crab and Shrimp Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by melimel_86
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
The recipe should have been "1 small onion" also using red onion makes for nicer presentation however if you use a red onion they tend to be very large so I would suggest half the onion...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Very yummy! I would suggest cutting back on the onion a little, but other than that, the salad was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This was a great seafood salad. I used tuna instead of crab or the old bay seasoning but it still turned out wonderful and im looking forward to making this again! Using red onion was a good choice with this recipe along with lemon pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gianteater

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Pearl Harbor, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This was great. I used 1 small onion, and 1/2 a medium sized green pepper. I also added in 1/4 cup of Old Bay seafood seasoning, along with ground black pepper, parsley, and a pinch of lemon-pepper seasoning. It was great. I served it with butter lettuc. I will most surely frequent allrecipes.com for more tasty recipes such as this one. I think that the key is, if you have been cooking long enough, then you can kinda tweak any recipe to your own liking. The addition of the Old Bay gave it the taste I was going for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I have mixed feelings about this.... I was expecting more flavor. All I could taste was celery and onion (I omitted the bell pepper called for). Couldn't taste the shrimp, crab, mayo, dill or Old Bay seasoning (I added a dash for flavor). I think something was missing... a squeeze of fresh lemon juice, more dill or sweet imitation crabmeat would have done the trick, I'm sure. Another reason for my low rating was due to texture - mine seemed kinda soupy (not really soupy, but enough to make me not care for this). Served on a croissant with a side of potato chips, this made a quick weeknight meal. I don't think I'll be bringing leftovers with me to work this week though. I should have tried Crab Salad by Christine as it seems to better suit my taste (and seems more like the deli stuff I like at my local grocer). Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I thought this was quite tasty myself, as did my husband and stepson.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLAFOUNT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This is so good. The flavors mixed well. I used a whole small onion. I thought it was perfect. We ate it on pita bread and crackers. It would even be great on a tossed salad. I will be taking this to our Easter gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Very tasty and easy to prepare. Guests loved it and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NitroBurns

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was good-but not amazing. It does taste very similar to the typical seafood salad you can buy at the meat counter of your local grocery store. If this is what you are looking for then this recipe is for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessxcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This wasn't quite the seafood salad I was hoping for, but it was still quite pleasant, especially when heaped atop a Ritz cracker and served with pickled items. The green bell pepper and onion was a bit overwhelming; my recommendation would be to use half of each. If you're craving more of a deli-style seafood salad, use imitation crab in place of the fresh crab meat, or mix in a bit of baker's sugar with the Worchestshire sauce prior to adding to the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Zesty Zaftig

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States