Classic Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Flavor of this Soup was excellent however, not as much clam flavor as I like for a clam chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This was good but I think a bit bland. I was searching for a thick creamy recipe like in restaurants. While it's thick, it's not creamy thick in my opinion. I think it needed something else too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
We love clam chowder so I tried this recipe because of the reviews but We didn't care for it too much. It was bland and didn't taste too much like clam chowder. It tasted more like potato soup. I don't think I'll be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I used skim milk to lighten it a bit. Sacrificed some of the rich thickness you would get with cream, but the results were still great, and the flavor was outstanding. I recommend adding a dash or two of hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
MMMMMMMMM.....wouldn't change a thing, best we've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mountain Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Delicious! I followed this recipe almost exactly. The only changes were extra bacon, and a little extra cream. I served these with Rosemary Drop Biscuits by FrackFamily5 for a very tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Too many potatoes in my opinion. Overall a good chowder. Everyone in the family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Awesome soup!! Everyone loved it!! I added some scallops and it was absolutely delicious.. I used more heavy cream and water then suggested. I served the soup in breadbowls it was great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Famly loved it and I have two little boys and a husband who does not particularly like seafood. I served it in a sourdough bread bowl and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Truly the best chowder I have ever had! I forgot to pick up some clam juice but added 2 extra cans of clams for the missing juice and I wish we had left-overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States