Classic Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I look forward to making these again. As others suggested, I changed the filling to brown sugar and cinnamon. I also made the rolls the night before and covered the slices in the pan with Saran wrap and a towel on top. They still rose in the refrigerator and just baked them in the morning. It was a huge time saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Best I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Made them again with a few changes: used bread flour and buttermilk in place of the hot water. They were "absolutely positively the best cinnamon rolls ever!" (my husband's words) My husband said they were the best; my son rated them superb! I used the filling from the "Clone of a Cinnabon" recipe along with their cream cheese icing. It's amazing how simply adding mashed potatoes can make these cinnamon rolls so moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Delicious!! Really great recipe and easy to make. Perfect texture and taste. I followed other reviewers advice and doubled the icing. I didn't have bourbon vanilla extract so I just added 1/4 tsp bourbon to the icing. Also added fresh lemon juice to icing. This is a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oxford1216

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
When I read the recipe, the mashed potatoes hooked me into trying it. I followed the dough recipe (subbing more hot H2O and butter for potato H2O) and got at least 50% more after kneading and rolling (not a bad thing, just more product). Instead of a cinnamon filling, I stewed down minced prunes (dried plums for the PR inclined) in juice and brown sugar. I began with a qtr cup apple cider, ran out, went to OJ, ran out and then to Cran-grape. I gently stewed the mix down into a paste. Choice of juice did not seem to matter though I prefer the cider. Made one dish of huge beautiful rolls and another 9x13 of a layered pastry. Both are great and both have good presentation presence. The rolls rival any I've had anywhere. I intend to experiment with other fruits in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Very good. Probably not amazing enough to warrant the time it took to complete all of the steps in the recipe. I like to cook, so it was fun to put in the effort, but I must admit that a quality store bought roll is not that different. Trader Joe's "Jumbo Cinnamon Roles" are very similar, cheap, quick, and also non-hydrogenated. For this recipe, I definitely needed to double the icing, I used a brown sugar/cinnamon/chopped pecan filling, and I added raisins to some and not to others. Both versions were tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
These were my first go at making homemade cinnamon rolls. They were delicious once they were finally done. I forgot to reserve the potato water. I used more sugar and cinnamon in the filling than called for. And next time, I would make more icing. I do recommend using a stoneware cookie sheet or something that in non-stick, so they don't burn. My husband loved these and took them to work this morning. Make these on a day off though when you have time to spare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I don't know if I did something wrong but I wasn't blown away by these. They were decent though. I added more cinnamon sugar and I still thought they were lacking something. The dough was also a lot stickier than I thought it would be like a lot of others posted. It was my first time making cinnamon rolls though and I think they came out pretty good considering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Oh my goodness! I can bake, but don't always have the best luck with breads. These came out perfectly! The whole family loved them. The bread is so moist and fluffy. I did add some orange zest to the dough batter, as that's a personal preference for recipes like this. Also, for the filling, I multiplied it by 1.5 and melted the butter and stirred in 1 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar, and 1 tb cinnamon. For the icing, I had leftover cream cheese icing from Christmas, though not enough. So I made this icing, again adding zest and a squeeze of orange and I used heavy cream as I had a little of that left in the fridge to use up. I combined the two icings and it was the best icing I've ever had. To note: I didn't have any trouble with this in my kitchenaid. I did end up with 9 cups flour in it, leaving it just a smidge sticky to rise, as I knew I'd be working in more flour in the next step. Do not overwork the dough. This one's a keeper. I'll be making it every Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This recipe is incredible. Had many compliments! I only had white sweet potatoes so I used them and they worked in this just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States