Classic Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This has become my favorite recipe out of the many ones I've tried and they are a must for my bake sales. The Potatoes break up the gluten in the flour making the dough tender and melt in your mouth, so you don't have to worry about fussing with it so much. Its easy for first timers just don't over work your dough and it will stay tender. (Personally stickier the better!) I usually make up my own "brown" sugar for the filling its cheaper just to add a tsp of molasses per cup of white sugar. I also add some nutmeg to the dough for a nutty touch. A tip for even rising/baking I always slice them no more than 1 1/2 " thick with a long piece of floss (slide under and cross them over) and then gently smash them down in the pan so they are spread out evenly. That way they don't bake so lop sided. or one edge rises higher and burns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roundhousecook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Perkins, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
The BEST Cinnamon rolls ever...have been testing out recipes for years and this is the one to keep. I used margarine instead of butter and it turned out so well, I will stick with margarine for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyButler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
such an INCREDIBLE recipe. the formula is near to perfect & the rolls turn out so light and satisfying. I added a little more cinnamon & a about 1/2 cup brown sugar to the filling. I also added 3-4 tablespoons of sour cream to the icing recipe which added made for a delicious twist. Definitely worth 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I have never left a review but this was too good not to. They turned out perfect! I cannot imagin a better tasting cinnamon roll. Very light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I am a cinnamon roll addict and these are the best I have ever tried....I use a cream cheese icing instead...and all I will say is.....YUMMMMMM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This is almost exactly the same recipe that I use. My husband tells everyone they are the BEST cinnamon rolls he's ever had. If you want something different and easy on the icing, try canned creamed cheese frosting, and put it on while the rolls are still warm. (I discovered this on Christmas morning when I was out of powdered sugar.) Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshall, Missouri, USA
Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
DELICIOUS!! They were defiantly a hit! Much better than my old recipe! The dough was nice and fluffy. I read the recipe and thought that was very odd to have mashed potatoes in cinnamon buns, but they turned out great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
They turned out well. I doubled the filling (using brown sugar not white) and added raisins in one batch and walnuts in the second. I found using mashed potatoes finicky because it was quite a bit more work. (I did save time by making extra and using them for supper.) Also this isn't the 'best' recipe, but I haven't found the 'best yet either. I am looking for one that has a bread like consistency and is very 'stretchy' - if that is the right description, when you are eating it. More like 'bread' than a 'pastry'. My boss used to make cinnamon buns for the restaurant I worked at and they were the BEST. This recipe has a denser texture and the bun doesn't stretch when you pull it apart. But worth making, no one will complain!! I also added cream cheese to the icing, and used just the potato water, as suggested. Like someone commented, 'the water was already hot' (plus I had enough because I made extra potatoes for supper) The recipe was too large for my Kitchen Aide, again like someone else noted, so I mixed it the best I could then turned it out on the counter and finished kneading it. You could probably get away with halving the recipe because it makes two large pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LottieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermilion, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Absolutely wonderful!! So moist and tender. I made the dough exactly like the recipe and it came out perfect. For the filling, I used half white sugar, half brown sugar and I tripled the cinnamon (no, it wasn't too much). I made my own cream cheese icing. This will be my staple cinnamon roll recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Delicious!! The actual bread part was super moist and flavorful even after a week. The dough was so soft and sticky I was afraid it wasnt going to bake properly but I just followed the recipe to a T and it worked out perfectly! Only thing i got complaints about and didn't like was the icing. I ended up making a vanilla glaze with 1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar 1/2 teaspoon vanilla and enough (4-6 tsps) milk to reach a drizzling consistency which was heavenly and went perfectly with the rolls oh and make sure you mix the waters, eggs, yeast and 2 cups flour by hand and then transfer to your mixer for the rest of the flour because I tried mixing all that in my kitchen aid mixer on the lowest spd and ended up with water flying everywhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States