Classic Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I also found this cookie to be very cake like. I put mint chocolate chips in them. I was trying to make something like chocolate chip cookies but with a chocolate cookie and mint chips and this just did not do it for me. I should have listened to the other reviews on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Torneby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
The taste of these cookies is ok, but they came out dry and cakey. I only baked them for 10 minutes, since 13-15 seemed a bit much, but I think they would have been better with an even shorter baking time. Either way, if you're looking for cookies, not cake, then stay away from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Very nice, I read the other reviews and added resse's pieces and chocolate chips. They are definitely more cake like then chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by NICEGIRL512
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I wanted a rich chocolate cookie and this seemed to fit the bill. I used half "european drinking chocolate" from Trader Joe's, half cocoa powder, added 1 tsp vanilla, and used half Reece's Pieces half chocolate chips. The taste was very good, but the texture was cakey with a high loft. I had to add 2 tbsp extra flour because I didn't have time to chill the dough. Maybe without the flour they would be more chewy. They were a good cookie, but not the chewy rich deep chocolate cookie I was looking for so I will continue in my search.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
These weren't bad, but they were somewhat plain. The texture was similar to that of a brownie, and their flavor a dark, barely sweetened chocolate. I think they could be vastly improved with peanut butter chips instead of the chocolate, although the chocolate on chocolate combination really is nice if you're craving some dark chocolate flavor. Not a bad starting point for chocolate peanut butter chip cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
I wasn't impressed. I thought they were dry with little flavor unless you bit into the chocolate pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
these needed to be a lot sweeter & the cocoa was the overpowering taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Excellent recipe, lovely chocolatey flavour-not too sweet nor too firm, lovely soft centred cookies. Easy to follow recipe, I just had to add a little extra flour to mine, say 2 or 3 tablespoons to get it to a stiff dough, shaping the balls was easy and my 3 1/2 year old daughter loved helping. A great recipe to try with kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
These really hit the spot. They are cakey, like brownies, and very chocolatey but not too sweet. I had a little trouble rolling the dough into balls as it was really sticky. And I kept the oven temperature a little higher so that the cookies would be firm on the outside but soft on the inside. When I asked my husband if he could think of any improvements, he said, "Yes - make more of them!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
I initially couldn't decide whether I wanted to make brownies or cookies, and these cookies are the perfect compromise! Instead of chocolate squares, I threw in a cup or so of semi-sweet chocolate chips, and it worked out just fine. The cookies are very, very chocolatey but NOT very sugary sweet. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States