Classic Chicken and Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
What a great recipe!!!! I made this last night for my sick husband who doesn't like any kinds of chicken soup and he loved this one!!!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sweetwater, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was delicious. The Family loved it, even the dog. I spoil my dog lol.. One thing i did though bc i did not wanna run to store, i used organic chicken broth, cream of celery, and water for the chicken soup base. Still was delicious!!!!! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melanieAM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
made it many times and gets better each time. instead of the water I add an extra quart of chick stock. I also use ground thyme but a little less than half of what the recipe calls for. ground thyme is very strong, so be careful adding it, be sure to 1/2 it and knock a little bit more off the measuring spoon. I also add a little bit more rice than called for, but I use regular white rice and not the long grain (that is because I have a lot of white rice, not necessarly because it is better). Receipe is fantastic!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I used the Fast Chicken Base with some meaningful changes:Great Base Recipe...several changes I made: 1)Used bones with meat only-No skins..less fat-doesn't need it for flavor 2) NO WATER-much better flavor without 3) Added 2 extra carrots(halved then chopped) and Sauteed ALL vegetables starting with onions,5', then added carrots and celery, stirring on low-mid heat 15 minutes..this roasts the veggies and adds amazing flavor..I also added the thyme in the beginning. 4) Add Pacific Chicken Stock, boil, add bones, boil then LOW simmer,mostly covered 30'. 5) Strain and discard everything but broth. Go to Chicken with rice recipe.... For the Soup: 1) Added 1 cup short grain organic brown rice to broth and cook covered on lowest setting 35-40 minutes...till almost done...add 3 chopped carrots(split lengthwise and chop, thinner as you get to the fatter end) and 1 stalk chopped celery. Add carrots and celery with 20' to go on rice 2) Cut skinned de-boned chicken(from making the stock) into 1" pieces, and add along with 1 cup of frozen peas to the base...bring to simmer, cover, turn off heat and set aside 15'...this prevents the chicken from overcooking. While waiting, toast a sliced Ciabatta roll drizzled with olive oil at 375 until lightly browned. I do not add any parsley or pepper. Skim to remove any surface oil and "scum"..nasty word but the stuff floating on top, basically. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Will
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I used 1/4c dried parsley and 1 cup of white rice (because these are what I had on hand). Tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I used the fast chicken soup base with this recipe and shared bowls of soup with two other friends. One of them called me the next day and said she really liked it. I could not wait to have my leftovers the next day. Great if you are feeling a little under the weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Hi, I have a couple questions, being that I am a very inexperienced cook. First, do you add the rice cooked or uncooked? And, do you simmer with the lid on or off? Responses are greatly appreciated! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph
Living In: Birmingham, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rtorgie
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This is the easiest soup to make and is SO GOOD! We have made with rice and with orzo pasta. Both ways are really good. I love the Fast Soup Base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This is a great recipe, the only thing is it needed a little more broth after the rice cooked down. Other than that It was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, and it was easy to make. It will be a favorite in my house for a very long time. (This recipe brought me as close to a compliment from my daughter than I have ever been!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States