Classic Chicken and Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This is a simple and delicious recipe yet I managed too make one big mistake. While making a double recipe of the soup base I added too much Thyme. What I did (after straining out all the thyme I could) was add 4 large potatoes and 1 extra cup of rice. The result was more of a stew than a soup but it tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Made the soup base suggested. Added two small bay leaves, left out the peas, and ended up having to add an additional carton of chicken broth. Had been craving chicken and rice soup all week and this was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2006
nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This dish is so tasty! My friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Excellent recipe. Delicious, quick and easy. Most of the time is spent simmering the broth and soup. Perfect for a cold winter meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael J. Wild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This is a keeper!! I didn't want to go to the store so I made alternates. I used 5 1/2 chicken breasts, which I boiled, and kept the chicken broth from it. I added a couple of Tablespoons of Chicken Boullion to the broth. And I used 3 quarts of broth, instead of 2 quarts of broth and 1 qt. of water. I had left over spanish rice, so I used 3 cups. And last but least, instead of peas, I used green beans. It's a winter dish, and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DzzRed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livingston, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Classic Chicken Soup doesn't include peas to me, so I didn't use them. But with the "fast chicken soup base" it makes a perfect classic chicken soup. I did add extra chicken broth and probably had more chicken than it called for, but I ended up with about 10-12 servings. This brought back memories when my mom would make chicken soup...so delicious and cozy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, and it was easy to make. It will be a favorite in my house for a very long time. (This recipe brought me as close to a compliment from my daughter than I have ever been!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rtorgie
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This is the easiest soup to make and is SO GOOD! We have made with rice and with orzo pasta. Both ways are really good. I love the Fast Soup Base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Hi, I have a couple questions, being that I am a very inexperienced cook. First, do you add the rice cooked or uncooked? And, do you simmer with the lid on or off? Responses are greatly appreciated! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph
Living In: Birmingham, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States