Classic Chicken and Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
* I must be stupid, but where's the chicken?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
DELICIOUS and easy meal! My husband usually has three bowls full, and even my picky toddler and 6 year old will eat it. Definitely follow the "Fast Chicken Soup Base" recipe and use that, makes it so much more flavorful than plain old canned broth. In addition to parsley I use thyme, and depending on what's in my pantry/fridge I replace the white rice with wild rice or fine egg noodles, add parsnips and celery, eliminate the peas (not a fan). And I simmer it much longer than the 10-20 minutes recommended, more like 2 hours. Serve with a salad and nice crusty bread or rolls, and you have yourself a super meal!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
I just boiled my own whole chicken instead of buying a roasted one at the supermarket. That might make a difference in the flavor. I don't know. I used the chicken broth after I boiled the chicken and then strained it and added 3 more cans of canned chicken broth. Make sure you use dried thyme leaves and not ground thyme like I did. I have thyme growing in my flowerbeds, I should have added that instead (oh well). I also added a little tarragon. My boyfriend liked it. I liked it to although we'll be eating chicken soup for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This is a keeper!! I didn't want to go to the store so I made alternates. I used 5 1/2 chicken breasts, which I boiled, and kept the chicken broth from it. I added a couple of Tablespoons of Chicken Boullion to the broth. And I used 3 quarts of broth, instead of 2 quarts of broth and 1 qt. of water. I had left over spanish rice, so I used 3 cups. And last but least, instead of peas, I used green beans. It's a winter dish, and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DzzRed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livingston, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Hi, I have a couple questions, being that I am a very inexperienced cook. First, do you add the rice cooked or uncooked? And, do you simmer with the lid on or off? Responses are greatly appreciated! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph
Living In: Birmingham, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Very good. Boiled the carcas longer than recommended here. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Made the soup base suggested. Added two small bay leaves, left out the peas, and ended up having to add an additional carton of chicken broth. Had been craving chicken and rice soup all week and this was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Photo by rtorgie
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This is the easiest soup to make and is SO GOOD! We have made with rice and with orzo pasta. Both ways are really good. I love the Fast Soup Base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Excellent recipe. Delicious, quick and easy. Most of the time is spent simmering the broth and soup. Perfect for a cold winter meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael J. Wild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States