Classic Chicken and Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Classic Chicken Soup doesn't include peas to me, so I didn't use them. But with the "fast chicken soup base" it makes a perfect classic chicken soup. I did add extra chicken broth and probably had more chicken than it called for, but I ended up with about 10-12 servings. This brought back memories when my mom would make chicken soup...so delicious and cozy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This is a simple and delicious recipe yet I managed too make one big mistake. While making a double recipe of the soup base I added too much Thyme. What I did (after straining out all the thyme I could) was add 4 large potatoes and 1 extra cup of rice. The result was more of a stew than a soup but it tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
to elaine: the chicken is in the Fast Chicken Soup Base recipe! Make that, then add this recipe. This is wonderful stuff. I use less onions that called for in the base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
* I must be stupid, but where's the chicken?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Made the soup base suggested. Added two small bay leaves, left out the peas, and ended up having to add an additional carton of chicken broth. Had been craving chicken and rice soup all week and this was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This is a keeper!! I didn't want to go to the store so I made alternates. I used 5 1/2 chicken breasts, which I boiled, and kept the chicken broth from it. I added a couple of Tablespoons of Chicken Boullion to the broth. And I used 3 quarts of broth, instead of 2 quarts of broth and 1 qt. of water. I had left over spanish rice, so I used 3 cups. And last but least, instead of peas, I used green beans. It's a winter dish, and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DzzRed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livingston, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Excellent recipe. Delicious, quick and easy. Most of the time is spent simmering the broth and soup. Perfect for a cold winter meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael J. Wild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This dish is so tasty! My friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Very good. Boiled the carcas longer than recommended here. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States