Classic Cherries Jubilee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
If you really want to try a dessert from the 70's, this is for you. I've had this in restaurants & it was good----this recipe has a very nice flavor to it with the hint of orange & brandy, & then served warm over ice cream......well what's not to like. Like the recipe says, impressive to guests, just not something you'd make frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIE2830

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
The flames were hypnotic. My friends were impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Trachtenberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Makes great pie filling! I had a bunch of fresh cherries to use up, and almost all the recepies I was interested in needed pie filling. I came across this and thought - 2 desserts in one! Sometimes cherry pie filling is just too "cherry". I like rich flavor that comes from the addition of orange and brandy. Plus I used almond extract instead of cherry extract. We ate 2 servings of it right away as Cherries Jubilee, and saved the left overs for Cherry Crisp the next day. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Delicious & easy to make. I didn't have any cherry extract on hand, so I followed a previous reviewer's advice & substituted with almond extract. Unfortunately we lit the pan outside, and couldn't see the blue flame because it was too bright out. We could hear the flame interestingly enough & feel the heat, so we knew it worked. My advice would be to light the flame in a darker setting so you can enjoy the display. We'll do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Delicious overall, but I like them a bit saucier, so I added some water while they simmered. I also used the almond extract since I did not have the cherry on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Very nice show and yummy flavor. I used almond extract, not cherry. Too bad the pictures didn't come out - next time I'll figure out how to turn off the flash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Excellent and I made a few substitions. I used 1/2 teas Brandy extract and 1/2 teas vanilla extract instead of the brand and cherry extract. Whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Wow, I feel like a world class chef! This was easy and delicious and my guests were amazed! I made just two changes, I left out the water and subbed cherry juice from the can and I forgot the cherry extract and it still turned out beautiful. I almost messed it up by stirring in the brandy, but my husband stopped me in time and instead I just poured it over the top and then lit it with a long match (I was so worried that it wouldn't light up) blue flames sprouted and when they started to go out I tipped the pan a little to keep them going as long as possible. Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
this was easy and we all loved it! It was fun to watch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shorewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
very good...instead putting brandy in, i put some vanilla on sugar cubes and place cubes on cherry jubille and light ...cubes melt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grannyvikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Classic Wine Pairings

Discover wine and food matchups made in heaven.

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

See how to make a rich and creamy New York-style cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States