Classic Cherries Jubilee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Ok...I hate cherries, but my husband and daughter love them, so I made them this for Valentine's Day. I chose this recipe because it uses fresh cherries and my husband and daughter said it was so great tasting that they thought this would make the best cherry pie filling ever. I plan to make one later. I had to make substitutions because I couldn't find cherry extract and the good brandy I thought I had was gone. I used a little juice from a jar of maraschino cherries in with the orange juice to try to intensify the cherry flavor, and also added a little almond extract, just incase it didn't boost it enough.The only liquor I had that I thought could take the place of the brandy was Grand Marnier, but since it is orange flavored I left out the orange zest so as not to make the orange flavor over power the cherry flavor. My husband dimmed the lights so they could see the beautiful bright blue flames jump all over the cherries. I served it over home made vanilla ice cream in those cute little beaded, footed dessert cups. ( I wish I had taken a photo to upload) I made the ice cream in advance and put it in the freezer for about 6 hours so it wouldn't be too soft and could stay solid for awhile under the warm cherries. To top it off I had coated some toasted almonds and organic raisins with bitter sweet Ghiradeli chocolate. I served them on a little beaded plate and they sprinkled them on after the cherries. Though I hate cherries, I tasted the jubilee and even I loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
My first attempt at cherries jubilee. I used 2 cans of canned cherries and doubled the recipe on everything else. Instead of water, I used juice from the canned cherries. I also didn't have cherry extract so used almond as suggested by others. I will definitely get some cherry extract for next time as I thought the almond flavoring was too much. Also, I will omit the orange zest next time as I thought the orange flavor was too strong. These flavors overpowered the cherry flavor too much. I will certainly try it again with these few changes. P.S. Canned cherries do not need to simmer for the full 10 minutes as they are already semi-cooked in the can. If you simmer too long, the sauce gets too thick and you have to thin it down with more liquid. I think 5 minutes would have been plenty long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This was amazing. I substituted almond extract for the cherry extract, along with a little vanilla. The sauce was too thick, so I added some more water and orange juice. I also left out the orange zest. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Try this with Breyer's new dark chocolate ice cream instead of vanille, OMG it is truly to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Too many ingredients. If you have good cherries/fresh or canned just use the juice and you dont need extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This was delicious. I added a little lemon juice and reduced the sugar a little bit, but I like mine a little more tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWINMOMLOVESFOOD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This decadent treat makes an ideal ending to an elegant meal, and it is so simple to prepare. I accidentally put all of the ingredients in the pan at once with the exception of the brandy, and it still turned out like a dream. Between the garnet red glow of the cherries and the exotic blue flames, it was as visually stunning as it was tasty. I made it with frozen dark sweet cherries, added some extra brandy, and did not use any cherry extract. This is a grown-up delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This is one of our favorite recipes for entertaining. Nearly always use the cherry juice rather than water and sometimes, when out of brandy, have subtituted a Portuguese almond liqueur. Whichever way it is always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
So good! I didn't have oranges so I used Clementines. I also used the frozen organic cherries. My husband dubbed it "moor-ish". I should have taken a picture because when you put it in a parfait glass it is so lovely. Thank you Wilemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I really loved this recipe, I didn't think it smelled too great cooking but as soon as I tasted it, I fell in love! It was very sweet! I couldn't find cherry extract so I used blackberry brandy and it was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Classic Wine Pairings

Discover wine and food matchups made in heaven.

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

See how to make a rich and creamy New York-style cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States