Classic Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This a great cake! I have a small baking business and about 90% of that business consist of no sugar added and sugar free items. There is no way I can count the number of carrot cakes I have sold. The only changes I have made is using whole eggs for the egg substitute and adding golden or regular raisins. I always double the recipe and make two 9inch layers. Then I make a double batch of cream cheese icing and cover the whole cake and but a good amount between the layers. My icing is make of cream cheese, unsalted butter, Splenda, vanilla, maple flavoring and sugar free Cool Whip. Last but not least I cover the entire cake with chopped pecans. I have got nothing but rave reviews. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This carrot cake is amazing.I have not eaten sugar (not purposely as it is sometimes a hidden ingredient in some foods as peanut butter) for about 40 years. I really was not expecting this cake to be this great. Even my family that consumes sugar thought it was superb. It was part of the Thanksgiving meal. I did not even have to put icing on it (hard to find sugar free icing anyway but I am sure Splenda has a recipe somewhere)! It is extremely moist and literally melts in your mouth with flavor. Delicious! Thanks, Splenda, Melissa Graves Crittenden, Kentucky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I don't generally rate things a "5 out of 5" but this recipe is really good. I didn't tell anyone this was a Splenda carrot cake-- and no one knew. In fact, they didn't really believe me when I told them it was. I made several alterations based on other recipes and flavors I liked and those made it even yummier :) Yes, the measures are weird and it would have been a lot easier to have things adjusted to "standard" measures for those who don't bake much-- but this recipe is definitely a winner. If need be, just do an eyeball on 7/8 cup. Really, it won't make that much difference if you're off by a teaspoon or so. I will warn those who change the pan size-- this cake, while relatively light, does NOT rise very much. I made it in a 9x13 and it came out in a sort of "snack cake" thickness. That was fine with me for passing out samples, but if you wanted it for a dessert it'd be better to bake it in a smaller pan-- either an 8 or 9 inch square or the loaf pan it suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This cake was delicious. It was very moist and had great texture and flavor. I didn't change anything in the recipe. I frosted it with the fat free cream cheese frosting that another reviewer suggested. I made it for a Superbowl party. When I said I was going to write a review, everyone at the party said be sure and give it five stars! Two people at the party were diabetic, and it was great to have a dessert that everyone could enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Have to say that I am a carrot cake fanatic! one of my all time favorite cakes so I was really excited to try this out, themeasurements really looked off but I followed the recipe to the exact, with only the sub of whole egg for the egg sub since I didn't have any sub in the house.. I mixed all in gredients and tasted it before I put it in the oven to see if I needed to adjust spice.. but to me it tasted just fine. going to try the cream cheese icing that first reviewer suggested, but as for eating the real thing and exercising later? why bother doing that if you can do it the healthy way the first time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattyH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
The best Carrot Cake Ever! I made this cake for my husband because it is his favorite kind of cake. But, since I am a diabetic I cannot have many sweets. So I don't make cakes to often anymore. I came across this recipe and was excited that I would be able to make something that we could all enjoy. My husband at first was sceptical. But, then was very immpressed with the final product. I did make a few modifications though and it turned out to die for.I used 1 cup flour, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/4 cup orange juice, 1/2 teaspoon allspice, 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg, 1/2 cup golden rasins, and I added to dry ingredients a small package sugar free instant vanilla pudding. I followed all basic directions but changed the amounts of the ingredients a bit. I did bake it in a loaf pan for 1 hour. I came out moist,delicious and full of flavor. I also made a frosting from a package of fat free cream cheese, 1 tea. vanilla extract, 1/3 cup splenda, and a pinch of cinnamon. WOW! Thanks it saved our sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
Awesome Recipe!!!!! I have a friend that is crazy about carrot cake and he absolutely LOVED this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
Cake comes out nice and moist. Needed more spice though. Otherwise a great health concious cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYFIT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
I made a few changes to this recipe which I think would bring the rating from three stars, which I gave the original recipe, to at least four stars. Here is what I did:increased Splenda to 3/4 cup, replaced the oil and apple sauce with 1/2 cup Lighter bake fat substitute and 1/2 cup shredded apples, increased cinnamon to 1 teaspoon, added 1/2 teaspoon apple pie spice and added 1/2 cup raisins or currants. This makes a sweeter and more flavorful cake and adds some moisture to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
Some things, like this cake, just aren't worth it. Although the texture was better than other Splenda dessert recipes, the cake was nearly tasteless and actually unpleasant to eat. It's also difficult to make-- 7/8 cup? 3/8 cup? I'm not good with math-- I had to eyeball the measurements. Don't bother with this recipe. Just eat a piece of real carrot cake and exercise tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States