Classic Carbonara with Pancetta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Wow... fantastic, indulgent meal! I used this recipe instead of the other carbonaras because of the pancetta, which I think is a step up from regular bacon- especially in this dish. The only changes I made were fyring the pancetta first and then cooking 1/2 an onion, 1 large shallot and 2 cloves of garlic in the drippings. And I omitted the pine nuts just because I don't like nuts in savory-type foods and the salt, as pancetta and parmesan are salty enough already. Thanks KMOMMYZ... good stuff :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This is not at all the classic Italian Carbonara. The Real Carbonara is simply 1 whole egg gently beat and added to that 24-36 month aged parmagiano-reggiano until you acheive a thick consistency or how you prefer with a pinch of salt and a twist of fresh ground pepper and of course the smoked pancetta not cooked till its crisp.Then add to that your preffered pasta . We use Tagliatelle egg pasta. This is a true recipe from Parma, Italy. But I am sure the other is nice too but is not an original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mooresville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
WOW! This recipe is fabulous, as is! This reminded me of a pasta I had while IN Italy!!! As far as the garlic goes...Carbonara traditionally is seasoned only with black pepper, and It was perfect! A++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This was good. Better on the 2nd day. I added crushed red pepper and 1.5 cups of peas (cooked), used extra black pepper and nutmeg and linguine. Should have used a large onion instead of small. The thing i liked most about this is that there was just the right amount of sauce. I was worried that it would be too little but it turned out just right. The night I made it, it seemed a little bland, but when I brought it for lunch the next day, the flavors had had a chance to really meld so it was much tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Disappointed. I found this when searching for recipes that had ingredients I had on hand. I followed the recipe just as written. I found it to be rich & bland. Maybe I will give it a try again sometime and take another reviewer suggestion of adding garlic. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillie64

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This was fantastic! I blew my family away with it. ty. I did switch up some ingredients, i left out the eggs, and added fontina and cream cheese to the sauce. it will be a family fav for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This was excellent as written - rave reviews from the whole family. I'll probably throw in some garlic next time around (maybe not a "traditional" seasoning, but how can you go wrong!)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galley Wench

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
tasty but u wanna eat it right away or the sauce gets scrable eggs when u head it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
We had this on a night before a race and expanded the recipe to generously feed eight. Couldn't have been better. It was delicious! I used a mixture of bacon and pancetta and substituted fettucine for the penne. Also, the pancetta was so salty, I used no additional salt. I did, however, grind out more pepper than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
We really liked this one! Left out the pine nuts, and added 2 tbsp of minced shallot. Will probably go a little lighter on the cream next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States