Classic Carbonara with Pancetta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Wow... fantastic, indulgent meal! I used this recipe instead of the other carbonaras because of the pancetta, which I think is a step up from regular bacon- especially in this dish. The only changes I made were fyring the pancetta first and then cooking 1/2 an onion, 1 large shallot and 2 cloves of garlic in the drippings. And I omitted the pine nuts just because I don't like nuts in savory-type foods and the salt, as pancetta and parmesan are salty enough already. Thanks KMOMMYZ... good stuff :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This was excellent as written - rave reviews from the whole family. I'll probably throw in some garlic next time around (maybe not a "traditional" seasoning, but how can you go wrong!)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galley Wench
Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Disappointed. I found this when searching for recipes that had ingredients I had on hand. I followed the recipe just as written. I found it to be rich & bland. Maybe I will give it a try again sometime and take another reviewer suggestion of adding garlic. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillie64

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
WOW! This recipe is fabulous, as is! This reminded me of a pasta I had while IN Italy!!! As far as the garlic goes...Carbonara traditionally is seasoned only with black pepper, and It was perfect! A++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This was fantastic! I blew my family away with it. ty. I did switch up some ingredients, i left out the eggs, and added fontina and cream cheese to the sauce. it will be a family fav for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This is indeed a "Classic" recipe and a staple in my home. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
My family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Yay, this turned out perfectly! I needed a lot of patience to keep stirring the pasta while the sauce heated without turning up the flame, but it was well worth it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Very tasty but a little too rich for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Simple and yummy! I enjoyed making it and my family enjoyed eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States