Classic Caramel Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Fabulous! I made 2 batches because we couldn't stop eating it. The first time I made it as stated but felt the caramel should have covered the popcorn more. So I made extra caramel for the second batch which covered it completely, but it did not taste better! Next time I will decrease the popcorn to maybe 3 or 3 1/2 quarts instead of 4. Still, this is THE recipe, and better than any others on this site that I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I'll just add to the OMG'S on this! Everything that was said before is true. Good, easy, and perfect. I followed the recipe this time but will definitely take some of the hints written about adding chocolate and/or nuts! Had to hide it for Super Bowl or it would be gone tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
add sorgum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This is so good! I added a couple cups of golden graham cereal and some chocolate chips! mmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shera
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This recipe is great! I had never made caramel popcorn before and had no problems, and it turned out great, crispy, not chewy at all. I made it for a second time today. I didn't have enough brown sugar so I used half white sugar and it worked just as well. I also decided to stretch it further and use just over 2.5 bags of microwave popcorn (smartpop, so not the super buttery kind), and it's still great, and still very sweet and crispy (my photo is of the second batch with the more popcorn to caramel ratio). The biggest trick I learned was to skip the shallow roasting pan that just made for awkward stirring, big messes and unevenly coated popcorn and opt for the really big stock pot. It worked wonderfully. I stirred every 10 min 3 times and then left it for the last 15 min. Also I didn't take it all out at once at the end, I took about 1/5th out each time onto parchment paper, and returned the rest to the oven. That way I could separate the individual popcorn pieces easier and wasn't having to deal with a giant solid mass which had to be physically broken rather than separated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Very easy & very good...almost foolproof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I made it exactly as directed. I made MANY batches to give away for Christmas gifts. I made 1/2 cup popcorn in a hot air popper. For baking, I started out using a cookie sheet, then went to a roaster, and ended up with a HUGE stainless steel bowl that I bought at Sam's Club for under $10. It made the process so much easier. I did not find that I had to spray the bowl. I did spray the rubber spatula to make stirring easier. I broke the corn apart as it cooled (it cools quickly). I had so many compliments! I already passed this recipe along to my daughters and this will be included in our annual Christmas baking. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This recipe was amazing! I have never made caramel corn before so I followed the directions exactly and it was so easy and tastes great. Will be making this over and over I am sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Love, love, love this recipe! Followed it exactly as written and loved it so had to make another batch right away. I tried a different one that a friend recommended and didn't like it at all. This is nice and crispy. One thing I did learn is make sure you have good popcorn! Makes a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I used corn puffs instead of popcorn.Had a 7.5 oz bag and cut the caramel mixture by a fourth. worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Churubusco, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Kettle Corn

See how to make your own old-fashioned kettle corn from scratch!

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States