Classic Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I love yams and these were very good. Next time I will steam my potatoes for a little less time because once they are in the oven with the glaze they continue to cook. As a result I felt they were a bit too soft. Still tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Tastes just like mom's!! The steaming was a breeze. I, too, cut the water down to ¼ cup and they turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
My husband is a huge fan of candied yams...but, I am not. However, I enjoyed this recipe. And, he loved it! I only made a few minor changes. I cubed and boiled my potatoes. I omitted the salt and added 1/4 cup of orange juice to the sugar mixture. Because I boiled them, the potatoes only took about 30 minutes in the oven to finish. Will definitely make this one again, and again, and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
OK, I added NO WATER initially after reading reviews. Just the salt, butter and brown sugar. Figured I could add water as I went if I needed to. Once my potatoes were steamed and peeled, I sliced into rounds, put them into my big frying pan, added my syrupy sauce and 'sauteed?' them in the sauce. Once your heat is high enough the sauce most definitely thickens and then carmelizes. I never did add any water at all. My only problem now is that these potatoes taste way better than the Costco pumpkin pie I got for dessert. I AM NOT KIDDING!!!!!!! Enjoy! mk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Kay Lahay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
My father-in-law wanted sweet potatoes without coconut, marshmallows, or pecans which cut out all my standard recipes! I had a bag of Schwan's frozen sweet potatoes on hand that I used, they already had a touch of sea salt so I did not add any more. I used orange juice instead of water. I poured the hot butter, sugar and juice mixture over the potatoes and put them in the fridge overnight. I baked them the next day and they are delicious!! This is a classic recipe that let's the taste of the sweet potato come through, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
These are my favorite! Very similar to how I remember my mom making them. She just put the sauce ingredients over the potatoes prior to baking instead of combining and boiling prior to putting on potatoes. Though she also used maple syrup instead of water. This way was just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Cleland Oglesby

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I added a tsp of lemon juice in the mix to balance out the sweetness a bit. Also 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1 tsp of Nutmeg. So good. Just like my moms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren Mc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
It was an okay recipe, but there are easier ways to make these. You can fry sweet potatoes in oil and add corn starch sauce (or any clear sweetner)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Loved the recipe however I added my own twist. After Step 4 , I sprinkled ground cinnamon, ground cumin and ground nutmeg over the top for added flavor. It was delicious. Simple yet easy and very yummy indeed! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This recipe received rave reviews this past Easter. I followed others' suggestions on here and added only 1/4 c of water. Next time I may add none so that the potatoes "candy-up" more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States