Classic Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I've been looking for a basic recipe for candied yams for sometime. My search is now over! I boiled the potatoes until they were slightly tender. After they cooled, I peeled & cut them in to cubes. I then added all of the other ingredents, plus some vanilla, to a small pan until well blended; however, I cut the butter & sugar almost in half. Next, I placed the cubed potatoes and the sauce in a crockpot with a little cinnamon & nutmeg. When the potatoes were soft (not mushy) I added a handful of marshmellows. After about 10 minutes, I transferred the candied yams to a baking dish, topped the yams with more marshmellows, and broiled until the marshmellows were brown (this is why I cut back on the sugar b/c of the added marshmellows). I served the Candied Yams for Christmas dinner and my entire family LOVED them. My mom even said they were as good as hers when she used to make them for holiday dinners - now that's a compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIL2PRAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This recipe is perfect..it taste like home. We had it for Thanksgiving, and will have for Christmas too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Elm, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
All I wanted was a "get started recipe" something that showed me the basics. This is GREAT for a beginner like myself..so easy and I don't have to do anything different....No additional ingredients necessary. Thanks alot...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
If I made these again, I would cut way back on the butter, sugar and water. They were too greasy and too sweet. I even used more sweet potatoes than called for, but they went largely uneaten at a feast where everything else was demolished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Goettert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oropi, Bay Of Plenty, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Pretty good. I don't like candied sweet potatoes, but I made these for traditions sake for those who like them. My husband took them out of the oven for me, and was sure he wouldn't like them. In the end, we both liked them, and I'll use this recipe again for Christmas. I might add a few marshmallows on top because it would look nicer that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I made these with fresh sweet potatoes. I followed the recipe exactly. They tasted good, but needed something to give them some holiday oomph. If I make these again I will add some cinnamon and/or nutmeg. Maybe even a spot of cream. If you're in a hurry, canned sweet potatoes would work fine for this simple recipe. Thanks for sharing it with the community!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Always good and just the right proportions. Very simple. I use pineapple juice instead of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Made these for Thanksgiving. Perfect, just the recipe I was looking for. Prepared with exact ingredients, but cooked in a slow cooker for 4 hrs the transferred to a 13X9 and broiled with mini marshmallows for about 3-5 minutes. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Broadview, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I am like the previous reviewer; I have never been a fan of sweet potatoes made with marshmallows and such. We had our Thanksgiving celebration just this past weekend and this recipe was a huge hit, a "classic" for sure. I baked the yams first...be sure to put a lining on bottom oven shelf, the natural sugars seep out and can make quite a smoky mess...once baked and cooled, the skins literally slipped off...sliced the yams and proceeded with the recipe as written. These are delicious and everyone loved them. Thank you, Michelle, for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I love this recipe. Even those who say they don't like sweet potatoes like this recipe. I absolutely hate those marshmallow sweet potato dishes, so this is just simple and wonderful. I am considering not boiling the potatoes this year and just adding them to the baking pan raw with the sauce. Has anyone tried this method? I hope it works out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States