Classic Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I personally learned this recipe from my mother in-law, only I used Princilla canned yams, put them into a large baking dish, sprinkled with brown sugar & dotted with buttrer. Baked at 350 until syrup,was bubbly & browned. This is a great dish for all occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Very good - I didn't cook the brown sugar and butter in a pan, though - I just sprinkled it on top of the sweet potatoes and baked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YUMMIES2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarendon, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Clinton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I agree with several others that you shouldn't use all the water that this recipe calls for. I probably added 1/4 to 1/3 cup which was just about right. Other than that, the proportions are right on! Other personal observations/changes are as follows: I added just a bit (about 1/8 tsp.) of maple extract and about five minutes before removing from the oven I topped each sweet potato slice with a canned mandarin orange segment and a bright red, fresh cranberry. I think the flavor of this dish improves the next day, so I'll probably make it the day ahead from now on and then warm up when needed. Now that's a time saver when you're trying to prepare a big holiday feast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I had never made sweet potatoes from scratch before and wanted just a basic recipe to cook them with and this was perfect! not too sweet or syrupy like ones i have tasted before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
if you mash them once they are cooked and place tiny marshmallows over them and put them back in the oven until the marshmallows have melted, YUMMY.....it was definately a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fmartinez1216

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
As others have noted I too never seem to get the proportions of sugar and butter the same every year. As to pre cooking my mother and aunts always boiled, peeled, than browned in butter before candying the sweet potatoes. Now I just peel raw, slice and brown, then candy. You can do everything but bake theme the day before and the hold their shape nicely. We do not do marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
No complaints on this recipe. I feel if I cooked the sauce a little longer to gain some thickness to it, it would have coated the yams better. I did top off the dish with mini marshmellows baked briefly under a broiler for added touch. It really came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hat Gal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Yummie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUMLUVS2COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
My MIL LOVED this and so did I. I followed the other reviewers suggestions and nixed the water and it was delicious. I have been making it for two years now and it is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States