Classic Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
All I wanted was a "get started recipe" something that showed me the basics. This is GREAT for a beginner like myself..so easy and I don't have to do anything different....No additional ingredients necessary. Thanks alot...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
If I made these again, I would cut way back on the butter, sugar and water. They were too greasy and too sweet. I even used more sweet potatoes than called for, but they went largely uneaten at a feast where everything else was demolished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Goettert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oropi, Bay Of Plenty, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Pretty good. I don't like candied sweet potatoes, but I made these for traditions sake for those who like them. My husband took them out of the oven for me, and was sure he wouldn't like them. In the end, we both liked them, and I'll use this recipe again for Christmas. I might add a few marshmallows on top because it would look nicer that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I made these with fresh sweet potatoes. I followed the recipe exactly. They tasted good, but needed something to give them some holiday oomph. If I make these again I will add some cinnamon and/or nutmeg. Maybe even a spot of cream. If you're in a hurry, canned sweet potatoes would work fine for this simple recipe. Thanks for sharing it with the community!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Always good and just the right proportions. Very simple. I use pineapple juice instead of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Made these for Thanksgiving. Perfect, just the recipe I was looking for. Prepared with exact ingredients, but cooked in a slow cooker for 4 hrs the transferred to a 13X9 and broiled with mini marshmallows for about 3-5 minutes. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Broadview, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I am like the previous reviewer; I have never been a fan of sweet potatoes made with marshmallows and such. We had our Thanksgiving celebration just this past weekend and this recipe was a huge hit, a "classic" for sure. I baked the yams first...be sure to put a lining on bottom oven shelf, the natural sugars seep out and can make quite a smoky mess...once baked and cooled, the skins literally slipped off...sliced the yams and proceeded with the recipe as written. These are delicious and everyone loved them. Thank you, Michelle, for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I love this recipe. Even those who say they don't like sweet potatoes like this recipe. I absolutely hate those marshmallow sweet potato dishes, so this is just simple and wonderful. I am considering not boiling the potatoes this year and just adding them to the baking pan raw with the sauce. Has anyone tried this method? I hope it works out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Since my oven is always full on the holidays, I make this in an electric skillet pan on the counter top (worth the $19.99 just to make this dish). Vent the lid. Delete the water, since it will create condensation that will thin the brown sugar sauce. I always try to lift the lid so that minimum condensation drops into the pan. My grandmother used to cook them this way with the lid off to make the sauce thicker, but it will take longer to cook this way.Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This recipe is wonderful. I made it exactly as it says only I cut up my yams before boiling them. Everyone loved it and I will definatley make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States