Classic Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
just like mom used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This is exactly what I was looking for. A good simple recipe for candied sweet potatoes. They are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
The first time I scaled the recipe down to 1 serving (but used 1 sliced potato instead of 3/4) & doubled the sauce. For some reason after baking for ~ an hour (per the directions) the sauce was completely gone. It was good, though a little chewy where it caramelized - but I wanted the gooey sauce like my mother-in-law's. So, the following day I did them in a slow cooker (1 hour on high then turn to keep warm) to avoid losing the sauce & they were a million times better. I also made the following changes the second time - cut into large chunks instead of slices, used DARK brown sugar, added a sprinkle of cinnamon & ~ 1/2 tsp of maple flavoring, and doubled the sauce (though I think maybe 1 1/2 of the sauce recipe would have been better?). ALSO - if using a slow cooker, when steaming the potatoes don't steam them all the way or you'll have mush (which is what I ended up with for the bottom half of my crockpot). I steamed them for 30 min & they were still pretty hard in the middle so I steamed them for another 30 min. since the directions said "until tender". I should have stopped after the first 30, as they would have continued to cook in the crockpot & may have held their shape better. UPDATE: made in oven with 2 large cans of sweet potatoes - definitely did not need to make so much sauce (I made 1 1/2 recipe), but not sure I cooked for as long (just keep an eye on it). Tasted just fine with canned, so was a great way to make this recipe super easy & quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Very first time I did candied sweet potatoes from scratch! And they turned out good. Everyone enjoyed them and the ones that said they don't like that stuff even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chariselb

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Colville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Simple and absolutely delicious. I'm so happy to find the recipe that used fresh yams instead on canned. It turned out amazing. I cut the yams in small chunks and boiled them in a little water. I put ten marshmallows on top when it was almost done to melt in. I also did NOT use the water. Turned out perfect. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This was a delicious dish! I made it as a side for Thanksgiving dinner and received many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Used yams. Peeled, cut to 1.5" thick rounds, boiled rather than steamed. Omitted water entirely. Huge hit, even with the kids. We topped half with marshmallows; both halves were equally wonderful. Definitely adding this to my EVERY HOLIDAY menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpecialKsGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This was the first time I tried to make "home-made" candied yams. When I tell you these were "AWESOME", please believe me. I only used 1/4 cup of water per other reviews, but I left everything else the same. The sauce was thick and delicious and the potatoes were soft with the outide a little crispy. My husband ate half the pan! Best yams I've had! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingsland, Arkansas, USA
Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Delicious! Substituted sliced canned sweet potatoes (drained), and added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. After baking potatoes for about 1/2 hour I topped with marshmallows and returned to oven to brown. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is a wonderful simple recipe. I have been making it for 40 years. I have tried different variations w/marshmallows, pecans etc & my family won't have it. They want the plain & simple way. They love it The only differance is that I do not bake it in the oven I put the water, butter & brown sugar in a skillet and bring it to a bubbly stage and put the cut up sweet potatoes in it & keep turning them. It's great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryJaneS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northlake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Neillsville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States