Classic Butter Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
These were great. I was able to cut out immediately without refrigerating and that means a lot to me. As usual, I rolled out dough between two sheets of wax paper and then cut out the cookies. This saves adding lots of flour during the rolling and makes things a lot easier all around. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
We always enjoy butter cookies after dinner with a good cup of coffee. These cookies were the best. I used just a bit more sugar, afterall, they are butter cookies not sugar, and used vanilla instead of almond extract and instead of chilling the dough, I made little balls and smashed them with the bottom of a sugared cup, they baked well, and my family loves them! Thank you for the very simple and GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
Very good butter cookie. Easy to make. I too added vanilla instead of the almond extract. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
My sister and i made these just yesterday for valentines day and they came out great! They are very easy to make. They do not spread so u can put a lot on one pan.the dough is easy to work with! They have a simple taste, like a butter cookie. They are very good. Absolutely perfect with the cookie icing on this site. The cookie was not super sweet, but with the icing (which hardens to stackability) it gives it the perfect level of sweetness. Thanks for this recipe!! Very yummy! I like them even w/o icing. You could have them plain w/ tea or something. the cookie comes out white, pretty for decorating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrwdMthr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hailey
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I love this recipe, it is really simple and the cookies turn out GREAT! I replaced the almond extract with vanilla essence though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hailey

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This is the same recipe as Holiday Butter Cookies here. We have made them for the last couple generations in my family and Christmas wouldn't be the same without them. They hold a cookie cutter very well but not stamps. They must really be iced or else they are very bland. I use the powdered sugar/milk/vanilla mixture for my icing...although they don't look nearly as pretty as the picture above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
These cookies were deliciously crumbly and buttery. They were a snap to make, with so few ingredients. My family snatched them up as soon as I took them out of the oven. Thanks for a great recipe, Heidi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I didn't think these tasted very good at all. My husband said he liked them though. I thought they tasted like flour. I used real butter too. I don't know maybe they need more sugar or something. When the dough is chilled it's pretty hard but it gets sticky real fast when you are working with it. It also doesn't make a whole lot of cookies. I'm not going to use this recipe again, and in the morning I'm going to go to the store to get more butter to make different cookies since I don't want to serve these to my family for Christmas Eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I just made them for a party, They were great. I used vanilla instead of almond. Also, I used my cookie press, and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
This recipe was so good for using cookie cutters and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wantagh, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States