Classic Butter Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I didn't think these tasted very good at all. My husband said he liked them though. I thought they tasted like flour. I used real butter too. I don't know maybe they need more sugar or something. When the dough is chilled it's pretty hard but it gets sticky real fast when you are working with it. It also doesn't make a whole lot of cookies. I'm not going to use this recipe again, and in the morning I'm going to go to the store to get more butter to make different cookies since I don't want to serve these to my family for Christmas Eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Thank you for a great recipe my co workers loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
These were good. I did find that I had to chill the dough for about an hour and a half and it was still a bit difficult to roll out but a bit of extra kneading sorted that out. My daughter's boyfriend is chief taster in our house and he loved them. I made these yesterday and there's only about half a dozen left. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
This turnd out to be a really good cookie. I used this recipe for a bridal shower and wedding favors. I made them into large cookie lollipops cut into different shapes (wedding theme). Everyone loved them and could not stop talking about how good the cookies were. This recipe is a winner....very buttery. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
Very good butter cookie. Easy to make. I too added vanilla instead of the almond extract. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Bakery quality cookie. Perfect from start to finish! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plains, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I just made them for a party, They were great. I used vanilla instead of almond. Also, I used my cookie press, and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
These seem like they are missing something. All you can taste is margarine and that combined with the almond extract does not taste good to me. Maybe you need to use real butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
These cookies were great! I made a triple batch and cut them out into halloween shapes. We frosted and decorated them and had enough for all my kids' classes and extras for at home. I rolled them out fairly thin (less than 1/4") but they were not too crunchy - just right. They held their shape great and didn't expand the way some cut-outs can. I will make these again for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca DeVries Poole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA
Living In: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
My husband really liked these cookies. He said they were the best i have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States