Classic Butter Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Simple recipe; great for baking with toddlers! I put in 3/4C of sugar instead of 1/2C; just perfect for our sweet tooth! 8 minutes in the oven was good enough- The cookies came out nice and soft and just a touch brown on the bottom. We used this recipe for Valentine's Day's Cut-outs, but we'll probably be using this for every holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
excellent recipe, my 5 year old had fun making it too.Thanks for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I too, substituted the vanilla extract for the almond and these turned out AWESOME! VERY good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I don't know what went wrong here. I followed the recipe, but added a little more sugar after reading some of the reviews. I refrigerated it overnight, and when it came time to roll out the dough and use the cookie cutters, I had a big mess on my hands. The dough was gooey and sticky and trying to make shapes with the cookie cutters was impossible. I finally managed to make six round cookies, which I baked as a test run to see if I wanted to bother working with the rest of the dough. I tasted one when it was finished, and it wasn't good. It tasted overwhelmingly of flour, and that's it. Despite the extra sugar I added, it still wasn't very sweet, it was just very bland. I decided I couldn't serve these (I was making them for my niece's grad party) and put the rest of the dough down the garbage disposal. I just can't understand why my dough ended up so sticky and unworkable when others seemed to have no trouble with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vegaskitty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
These were simple and tasty! I left out the vanilla and refrigerating and they were still great....recipe made a lot, which is a plus...I added sprinkles i had left over on a dozen and it was a nice addition. Thanks for sharing this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
An easy and delicious butter cookie! I used vanilla instead of almond (usually goes over better with my family) and rolled the balls in sugar before flattening them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
i am making this recipe right now. i have the dough chilling and i had to add a bit more sugar. so far the dough seems really good. hope it tastes as good as it looks after making the cookies a few times. i found them to be a little too moist and kept falling apart. not a very good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I loved this recipe and it was perfect for teaching my two year old about cookies cutters and shape, we had such fun, thank you. It was very very tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I think it's great! Being as new as I am in the baking arena... I had no problem at all. These cookies were just great. I may add a little sugar next time; otherwise, they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Unfortunately, not very good. They tasted like flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States