Classic Butter Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I baked these cookies last night. I don’t have much patience with cut-out cookies, but I wanted to use mini cookie cutters and make something festive. This dough was so marvelous to work with. It rolled out smoothly and easily and the cookies did not spread out overly much on the cookie sheet. Then the taste test. This is probably the most delicious cookie I’ve ever eaten! They are my new standard of excellence. The cookies are tender, but not fragile and I am going to try shipping them and see how they do. I did use a half tsp of almond extract in addition to the vanilla just because I like that flavor. And I was out of cream of tartar so I checked online for a substitution and used a half teaspoon of baking powder in addition to the soda. Also, as others mentioned, watch them closely toward the end of baking as they can quickly become too browned on top. Thanks so much Sally for sharing this terrific recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
I didn't have cream of tartar, so I omitted that and the baking soda and added instead 1-1/2 tspns of baking powder. These turned out great in my cookie press. My kids and I made green Christmas trees and wreaths. Next time we plan to decorate these tasty, quick and easy cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
I am 11 years old and I made these cookies without a problem. They were very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
I've eaten just about all of the goodies in my home and I was desperately searching for something to tame the sweet beast in me and I choose this recipe. I did add an extra 1/4 cup of brown sugar (some reviewers complained about this not being sweet enough). I also added about a cup of crushed walnuts to the mixture. I just dropped mine by spoonfuls onto a cookie sheet (didn't really chill the mixute) and baked as directed. Turned out lovely. Thanks Sally!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
i thought these were good, but the dough was very sticky. i added crushed walnuts to the dough and rolled them into balls and after baking rolled them in powdered sugar. they turned out great. my husband doesn't like walnuts, but he ate almost all of the cookies. i will make these again, but i will chill it for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Cream the butter well, then add the eggs and vanilla. Sift the dry ingredients (we added only 1/2 cup extra flour) before mixing. Divide the dough into quarters and chill. Plan accordingly so you can roll them and cut them quickly. Watch while baking!!! With care, this can be THE BEST basic cookie for cutouts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
These were fantastic!! They taste wonderful and now there is no need to buy bakery butter cookies any more! I make the dough and roll into logs and save for later so all I have to do is slice and bake when I have a craving. I like to put sprinkles or colored sugar on top and bake them. Thank you sooo much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
By far, the most delicious and versatile cookie I've made all season. Works best for me as a slice-n-bake, NOT a rolled type of cookie. This one goes in the recipe archives AND has been requested by everyone in my office, even the gents!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
This recipe was the greatest of all cookies! If you are doing cut-out cookies, add 2 c. flour to original recipe. My entire family loves them and in about 10 minutes, all 40 are gone! Thank you very much for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Very nice cookies. I used a little less flour (2 1/4 c.) and shaped in a cookie press. Then decorated and baked 8 minutes. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States