Classic Butter Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2000
These have a rich buttery taste and bake very nicely. I baked them plain and then iced them--your classic cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2000
I made these into ball shape and they didn't turn out very good, they got crunch really quick and weren't chewy. The flavor of the cookie was very good thou. I will try these again but with the cookie press and less cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2000
I used this recipe as suggested in the Halloween feature to make 'fingers' but they didn't keep their shape in the oven, even though I chilled them for nearly 24 hours... I don't think any of the recipes in the Halloween feature had been tested properly - the 'mounds of brains' didn't work using this recipe either, they turned out very flat! Tasted nice, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
This was a great recipe everyone loved these cookies the dough for my was a bit crumble but the were great anyway Vin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2001
Crispy and buttery - delicious! Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2001
Good recipe for golden buttery cookies. It's a little bit sweeter than they need to be. I would reduce the amount of sugar by half a cup :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
This is probably the most perfect butter cookie recipe I have ever found! Thanks to Sally, I won't be searching through a lot of different recipes when the holidays arrive.... Thank-You "lil" Bunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
Found this to be one of the better butter cookie recipes....shortened baking time as first batch was too crumbly...I made ropes and twisted them together for candy canes, adding red food colouring to one half batch. A real hit with Grandkids!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
This does not make a good cut-out cookie at all. The dough was too soft even after being refrigerated for over a day, and stuck to the cookie cutters and the counter even with a lot of cooking spray. The flavor was not bad, kind of bland. Do not use for Christmas cookies, your cookies will be ruined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
I didn't have cream of tartar, so I omitted that and the baking soda and added instead 1-1/2 tspns of baking powder. These turned out great in my cookie press. My kids and I made green Christmas trees and wreaths. Next time we plan to decorate these tasty, quick and easy cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States