Classic Butter Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
These were a little dry and somewhat heavy... I tried to make them drop cookies though, which is probably why. They'd be really good as cut-out cookies...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
i thought these were good, but the dough was very sticky. i added crushed walnuts to the dough and rolled them into balls and after baking rolled them in powdered sugar. they turned out great. my husband doesn't like walnuts, but he ate almost all of the cookies. i will make these again, but i will chill it for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
This was a great recipe. I was looking for a butter cookie with confectionate sugar. I saw it at 8pm and ate them by 9pm, when the kids were asleep. I only had to add a cup of flour to get a firm batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
These cookies turned out really well. I've made them for a gift and can't stop eating them myself! I only stuck the dough in the freezer for about 5 minutes, and although a bit sticky, it rolled out nicely on a lightly-floured surface. Because I didn't have cream of tartar, I substituted 1 tsp. lemon juice after halving the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
Kids loved 'em, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
Very GOOD recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEAGAIN72461

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
sorry to say this was not the best butter cookie recipe. it was very hard to use for cut-outs and is not too tasty. i found it to be powdery and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
By far, the most delicious and versatile cookie I've made all season. Works best for me as a slice-n-bake, NOT a rolled type of cookie. This one goes in the recipe archives AND has been requested by everyone in my office, even the gents!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
I didn't have cream of tartar, so I omitted that and the baking soda and added instead 1-1/2 tspns of baking powder. These turned out great in my cookie press. My kids and I made green Christmas trees and wreaths. Next time we plan to decorate these tasty, quick and easy cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
This does not make a good cut-out cookie at all. The dough was too soft even after being refrigerated for over a day, and stuck to the cookie cutters and the counter even with a lot of cooking spray. The flavor was not bad, kind of bland. Do not use for Christmas cookies, your cookies will be ruined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States