Classic Butter Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This recipe worked well in my cookie press. I just warmed it with my hands a little when I put it into the press. When cooked, they spread out a little too much. Very yummy, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bend, Washington, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
these were okay. not your classic christmas press butter cookies. too dry tasting for that. my 6 yr old sd they were edible but he liked others better. maybe try for cut out cookies next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Cream the butter well, then add the eggs and vanilla. Sift the dry ingredients (we added only 1/2 cup extra flour) before mixing. Divide the dough into quarters and chill. Plan accordingly so you can roll them and cut them quickly. Watch while baking!!! With care, this can be THE BEST basic cookie for cutouts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
5 STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
This recipe worked great in a cookie press. We added orange extract and zest for something a little different and it turned out awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANKIN0255

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Co-workers LOVED the butter cookies! I cut them out to look like sandals and iced them. Absolulty delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Wonderful dough--I kneaded in a little extra flour and it rolled out beautifully. The cookies bake very quickly, so watch them carefully. I used the dough with a linzer cutter and made cookie sandwiches with jam or Nutella. They were buttery and sweet, but not cloyingly sweet. Definitely a recipe I will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIBRARYLADY61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I made one variation bysubing some cocoa for part of the flour to give a chocolate kick, and it was a hit with all of my neighbors. I used them to make gift baskets by baking them in the ball form and them putting them in decoartive containers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Saucedo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
So delicious and easy! I lessened the flour to 2 2/3 cups b/c I didn't want to roll it out. I formed balls, smooshed them, and sprinkled them. So yummy! My son loved helping. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethislife!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dresden, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This is a wonderful butter cookie. I use it by rolling it into a log shape, chilling and then rolling the log in colored sugar before slicing. Do not over bake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lyons, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States