Classic Butter Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Sorry, I clicked on the wrong recipe. I didn't mean to review this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
Even after chilling it was necessary to add more flour to make cut-out cookies. Great flavor and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
These cookies are very versatile,but a little too wet for rolling out and cutting. Be careful of overcooking them too. If you cook them too much, they come out tasting like popcorn. Very good for plain circles and logs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
This recipe was the greatest of all cookies! If you are doing cut-out cookies, add 2 c. flour to original recipe. My entire family loves them and in about 10 minutes, all 40 are gone! Thank you very much for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
I was making this recipe for a day at the park with my sister and all the kids. I had no complaints with the ingredients but I did have a problem with trying to roll the dough out. I chilled them in the freezer after I saw how sticky the dough was but even that didn't help. They simpley would not roll out. I decided to spoon the mixture on the pan because they wouldn't even roll into balls. They came out looking kind of weird but tasted alright. I sprinkled powdered sugar on the tops of them to sweeten them up a bit. It's a good recipe for taste but they don't roll out so well. Thanks for sharing it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
I've eaten just about all of the goodies in my home and I was desperately searching for something to tame the sweet beast in me and I choose this recipe. I did add an extra 1/4 cup of brown sugar (some reviewers complained about this not being sweet enough). I also added about a cup of crushed walnuts to the mixture. I just dropped mine by spoonfuls onto a cookie sheet (didn't really chill the mixute) and baked as directed. Turned out lovely. Thanks Sally!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
its a really nice recipe the cookies turned out nice and crispy. pls beware and dun try to double the recipie by yourself like i did , it turned out kinda hard all in all this is really a classic recipe =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
i made this, and substituted 2 tsp. of lemon juice for the cream of tartar, as suggested by another reviewer. i agree that these cookies were nothing special. lacked taste (not sweet enough). but rolled in confectioners' sugar (out of the oven and again when cooled) was an excellent suggestion - made delicious tea cakes. also, rolled into balls in sugar before baking was a good idea. used less flour and chilled before using - agree with other reviewers that the dough is pretty sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Very nice cookies. I used a little less flour (2 1/4 c.) and shaped in a cookie press. Then decorated and baked 8 minutes. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
Flavor good, but dough was too sticky, even after overnight in frig. I used a cookie press and the cookies just backed together without the shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States