Classic Butter Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Turned out very well, my family and I had a great time rolling out and decorating them. They froze well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
these cookies were not the texture i was looking for. i was going for a soft, rich, buttery cookie, but these were crispier and less cakey than i wanted. they also didn't have the rich flavor... will try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Great cookies! I did add 1/4 cup of brown sugar to add sweetness, but they were very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Pretty standard recipe, easy to adapt to your needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Excellent cookie, and so versatile. I use the log method, making 2 logs and wrap them in wax paper. I keep these in the fridge, for up to 2 weeks, and slice and bake anytime. Often popping a batch in the oven, first thing in the morning, so everyone has fresh cookies in their lunches. I can customize the cookies for everyone...some plain, some with cinnamon and sugar, chocolate glazed, or use flavored store bought icings. I have to say, since I found this recipe, I always have a log or two on hand. Perfect for a busy Grandma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandma-diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Excellent, easy cookie that is very versatile. Does taste more like a sugar cookie then a "classic" butter cookie. Be sure to cream the butter and sugar until fluffy to get the desirable texture of this cookie. Also be sure to chill the dough. Remove from the oven when barely brown- even if you have some doubts that they are done. Do not over bake as the center will continue to cook on the hot cookie sheet. I used the "log" method. I topped some with cinnamon & sugar, some with the zest of an orange, and dipped some in melted chocolate after they cooled. I tried one "as is" with no toppings and it was great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I made these with my daughter for her Valentines party at school. I also used the baking soda instead of the cream of tarter and they turned out great. The consistancy of the dough was perfect for rolling out and using cookie cutters. They do tend to cook very fast, so keep an eye on them instead of waiting for the timer. Make sure you keep plenty of space between cookies.....Its been a while since I have baked and our heart shaped cutouts pretty much looked like circles when we were done, but they were melt in your mouth good. We iced some and used sprinkles on some others. They were absolutely delicious and I will definately make this recipe again and again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This recipe was almost perfect. I don't like the taste of cream of tartar, so I used baking powder as a substitute. Very light, crispy cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gingerbreadgirlz
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Easy to make, quick, tasty. I doubled the batch and then added some peppermint to one batch and crumbled candy canes on top. Tasty and Festive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gingerbreadgirlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
We followed the recipe as given and thought is was easy to mix. It seemed a bit crumbly but after removing from teh bowl I was able to work it together by hand into a big ball. We decided to refrigerate and rollout as cut cookies. We rolled them thin and bakes as directed. They came out perfect! They are not too sweet and tasted great with a cup of hot tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy J.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States