Classic Butter Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
The cookies weren't sweet at all and they were very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Made these to give out as Christmas gifts and take to work...everyone loved these. I loved them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dana Sweeney
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
As advised by another commenter, I subbed 1.5 tsp baking powder for the soda and tartar, and these turned out to be the best cookie press cookies I have tried yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Sweeney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This is the recipe my mother always used and now I use ,,, definitely a family favorite. Although we've played around with all the options, our "usuals" are cut-outs and snowballs (#8). I can't remember a Christmas where we didn't have them. When I make the snowballs, I use finely ground walnuts (versus chopped). I pulse them with a bit of flour in my coffee grinder or food processor. Coupled with very fresh, good quality powdered sugar, these cookies are melt in your mouth. Thanks for posting this classic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
**** - Very Good!! And worked out great for rolling and cookie cutters if chilled first. Could be just a tad sweeter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
sadly the cookies came out so crumbly they fell apart, they ended up in the garbage :( . dodnt know what i did wrong but i followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cthylla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Fantastic recipe and superb crispness and flavor. I made these in my cookie press and it was the perfect consistency without chilling the dough which makes this not only a delicious cookie but super quick and easy. I followed the directions exactly (except I accidentally used 1/2 tsp instead of 1/4 tsp salt, which apparently didn't matter). If I could give this recipe 10 stars, I would, it is just THAT good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I have been looking for this recipe for ever. thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef1217

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
these are the best light cookies. Also, a childhood favorite. I make candy can logs out of these with peppermint flavoring twist together after chilled and slice and bake. AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This recipe was perfect for my cookie press. Dipped them in chocolate after for an easy-to-make and beautiful treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States