Classic Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I'm giving this recipe 4 stars only because of the amount of sugar it calls for. When I followed the recipe originally the muffins were too sweet and dry for my liking. I made the muffins with half the called for amount and modified the flour amount by making it 3/4cup flour and 1/4 cup almond flour and enjoyed the outcome much more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marijaf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
My grandma used to make bran muffins and I was trying to find a recipe like the one she used to make. These were dense, yet moist and soft. They bake up very nicely too. They are quick to make and the directions are easy to follow. I made 2 changes and that was subbing half the all-purpose flour with King Arthur white whole wheat. I have been experimenting with subbing half whole grain flours in recipes. Then, the other thing I did was use wheat germ instead of wheat bran. I read on-line it is an acceptable substitute. These were good, but were missing something that made my grandma's recipe had that made hers more rich tasting. I also didn't add the raisins at the end, as hers did not have them either. I may actually try these again following the recipe exactly with all the AP flour and using the wheat bran to see if my changes are what made them different or if they are the same. They will be great for a handy breakfast, though, that is high in fiber in low in calories. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
There are some issues with this recipe if you don't use the right ingredients. The white flour should definitely be organic. The wheat bran shoud be organic as well, as that has issues as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Really good muffins. Use lots of raisins to keep moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
We really liked these. I substituted Brown sugar Splenda for the Brown sugar and I used All Bran cereal instead of the bran. But I did this to cut sugar and cereal was what I had on hand. I will try with applesauce and egg substitute next batch. I will be making these often. I know the original had I followed would have been great. Jgled
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Loveszumba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
So DELICIOUS!!! I copied the recipe to "T" the first time and they came out perfect! Second time around I substituted oats for the all purpose flour and added walnuts and chocolate chips, third time I used almond butter instead of vegetable oil and added flax and pumpkin seeds. Next tie I'm going to try fat free yogurt instead of the buttermilk to make them as low fat as possible! Adding this one to my Go-To-Recipes for Bran Muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Awesome recipe! I substituted the oil for apple sauce, and it turned out great. They freeze well too, so I bake a couple batches at a time and then have bran muffins all month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Excellent!! They are moist and light. A great base recipe. Probably one of the best bran muffins I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I have been making this a couple times a week since the holidays. I also vary the sugar; add molasses. Sometimes cinnamon. Bananas. Grated veg such as carrots. The possibilities are endless with this. Oh, half unsalted butter/half olive oil if I zest in orange rind. If you arent sure, just enjoy it as presented. If & when you want. Experiment! With raisins I simmer for a bit in a little water to soften for kids. Drain & count the liquid towards the milk. Thanks for this handy recipe Janet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,063) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States