Classic Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Our bodies need fat, but not sugar. At 7gm of fat per muffin, I kept the oil, but I did reduce the sugar to 1/3 cup and the muffins were still nicely sweet but with a lower carb count. Remember that these are muffins and will suffer from overcooking and overhandling. Whisk wet ingredients in one bowl. Soaked wheat bran will get added to this right before adding to dry ingredients. Whisk together dry ingredients for about 15-30 seconds. Then gently stir wet ingredients into dry *just until the flour is no longer visible. Excess stirring will cause tough muffins! Divide into muffin cups and bake immediately. Once baking soda has been added to liquids, it will begin to activate so it's important to get it in the oven. Nutritional info: Cal: 151, Fats: 7, Carbs: 16 net, Protein: 3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I lost my previous bran muffin recipe, and when my husband requested them for 'regularity' issues, I chose this. I made the recipe as printed and it was excellent! He liked it better than my previous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JetPuffed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Substituted applesauce for oil, Allbran cereal for oat bran, and whole wheat flour for white flour. Sprayed muffin tins instead of using papers. Held raisins for kids. Turned out moist and tasty. Great with yogurt fruit parfaits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I like this recipe as is (except no raisins because my 3-year old doesn't like them). I usually make 3-4 dozen muffins and then put them into freezer bags and freeze them. Even after a month or two they taste every bit as yummy once they are thawed. We put honey on them, but they have a nice sweetness to them without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Excellent! I used blueberries instead of raisins and 1/4 c. unsweetened applesauce instead of the egg b/c I was out of eggs. They still turned out amazingly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Hearty, but not heavy. Could use more spices for flavor or more raisins. Substitutions to lower sugar and calories: unsweetened applesauce instead of oil, 1/3 c brown sugar splenda, and whole wheat flour. Calories 117, fat 1.1g, sodium 255mg, carbs 24.9g, sugars 11.6g, protein 3.1g.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ljr
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This is the forth time I have made this recipe. I am always on the lookout for good muffin recipes and this is one of the best. I substituted blueberries for raisins. Next time I will substitute apple sauce for the oil. I made eight large muffins instead of twelve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer63
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I have made these muffins so many times and they are wonderful! Moist and delicious! Using chunky applesauce instead of the oil and dried cherries instead of raisins are the only changes I made. If you like bran muffins, you will love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer63

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Put a banana, coconut, dates and walnuts in it. Yummy. If you have leftover buttermilk-freeze it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,022) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States