Classic Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
these are delicious, I replace the raisins with xmas colored chocolate chips(bad idea) and they stuck in the pan even though I sprayed them well, they still tasted really good, will make these again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
These are great muffins! Easy to make, texture is not dense, beautiful color and tasty. And I like that the recipe only makes a dozen. They are easy enough to make a fresh batch when we run out which we did already after making them just yesterday. My 7 and 5 year olds loved them! They want me to make more today. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This is a great basic recipe. For some flavor I added 1tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 C walnuts, and 1/2 C dried orange flavored cranberries (purchased from Trader Joe's). I chose to omit the raisins and add an additional 1/8 C of buttermilk to keep the muffins moist. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
These were good! I followed the recipe except I substituted applesauce for the oil as other reviewers have suggested, made my buttermilk using 2% milk and vinegar, and I added in a heaping 1/2 cup of raisins AND dates! My only complaint is that they need some kind of spice! Next time I'm going to try adding some cinnamon and maybe pumpkin pie spice to the recipe. I would like to try another reviewer's suggestion of substituting the 2/3 cup brown sugar with 1/3 cup of brown sugar and 1/3 cup of molassas to give it a richer taste and make the muffins moister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I really enjoyed these muffins. I substituted Flax Plus for bran. I also used dried blueberries and 1/2 cup of chopped mixed nuts. I added 1 tsp of Penzeys Apple Pie spice. They were very moist and tasted like a muffin you would get at a high quality B&B. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mari1751

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seneca, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I love it! Make them all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjelka

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
These are the nicest bran muffins I've ever made. I like using fresh or frozen fruit instead of raisins, so I dredged 1 cup of frozen cranberries with a couple of teaspoons of flour and added that at the end. The texture was still perfect, not too wet as sometimes happens. Making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
yummy and easy to make. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.fan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Excellent and quite addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I backed this morning and these muffins are excellent, love substitution for apple sauce instead of oil... and I used frozen blueberries instead of raisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 998) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States