Classic Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Just pulled these out of the oven and WOW, I'm impressed. These are really, really good! I'm pretty new to this cooking healthy thing, so the recommended adjustments were welcomed. I used unsweetened applesauce and a few TBSP coconut oil in place of the vegetable oil, 1/3 c stevia for baking (made brown with molasses), whole wheat flour, a healthy tsp or two cinnamon, and a handful of dried cranberries along with the raisins. Using the stevia is unnoticeable, which I appreciate, and the cinnamon really shines through in flavor! I was worried about them being dry so I baked them for a short 13 min and then an additional 3 min. Perfect...no need for a pat of butter! Warm them up and go! **update** after several times of making these my husband requests them and even my 3 and 5 yr old enjoy them! We've thrown in raisins, dates, and walnuts, bananas, and even blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaJo Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LAB
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Delicious and good for you. I used olive oil and substituted fage 0% yogurt for the buttermilk, molasses for the sugar and stone ground wheat flour for the all purpose. I added 1 mashed banana and some dates instead of raisins. Made 12 muffins and cooked for 20 minutes and they were perfect. Husband loves them too. Will definately be making on a weekly basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This is my "go-to" bran muffin recipe. The only thing I do differently is while the oven is preheating & the bran is soaking, I soak the raisins in boiling water and a splash of vanilla. I let the soak until it's time to incorporate them, then I drain them really well & add them. Makes the raisins nice and plump and juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Just baked it as a cake in a round pan. It took a little over 30 minutes to bake at 375 degrees F with a doubled recipe in a very flat round pan. Also, I substituted homemade Greek yogurt in place of buttermilk and used dried cranberries in place of raisins; white sugar in place of brown sugar and white whole wheat in place of all-purpose flour. My household diligently counts carbs, so weights according to the recipe changes just mentioned are as follows: serving size=76.625g of pre-baked batter/carbs per serving=47.27g.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Great recipe! I changed it a little by adding applesauce and blueberries. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Duckworth
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Second time trying and they turned out great only this time I added walnuts and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
This is a delicious muffin as is. Even two days later, loosely wrapped and at room temp, it was had a fantastic flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Delicious! Added shredded carrot, golden raisins & chopped pecans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Macias

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I'm giving this recipe 4 stars only because of the amount of sugar it calls for. When I followed the recipe originally the muffins were too sweet and dry for my liking. I made the muffins with half the called for amount and modified the flour amount by making it 3/4cup flour and 1/4 cup almond flour and enjoyed the outcome much more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marijaf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
My grandma used to make bran muffins and I was trying to find a recipe like the one she used to make. These were dense, yet moist and soft. They bake up very nicely too. They are quick to make and the directions are easy to follow. I made 2 changes and that was subbing half the all-purpose flour with King Arthur white whole wheat. I have been experimenting with subbing half whole grain flours in recipes. Then, the other thing I did was use wheat germ instead of wheat bran. I read on-line it is an acceptable substitute. These were good, but were missing something that made my grandma's recipe had that made hers more rich tasting. I also didn't add the raisins at the end, as hers did not have them either. I may actually try these again following the recipe exactly with all the AP flour and using the wheat bran to see if my changes are what made them different or if they are the same. They will be great for a handy breakfast, though, that is high in fiber in low in calories. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,022) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States